Collectables Records

Dick Jurgens Your Dance Date With... / At The Aragon Ballroom

Your Dance Date With... / At The Aragon Ballroom
35% OFF
Rating 4.8
5 ratings
List Price: $14.97
You Save: $5.24 (35% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Item:  COL 7643
on most orders of $75
Brand New
Amazon sells this CD for $13.80, buying at saves you 29%
This is the price to buy directly from or its featured FBA seller. Prices change often, this price was last checked on March 27, 2015. Amazon is a registered trademark of, Inc.

Related products:

2 Original LPs on 1 CD

Customers who purchased this item also bought these:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2004
  • Label: Collectables Records
  • Original Album #1: Columbia CL 6136 (1950)
  • Original Album #2: Columbia CL 563 (1954)

Description by

Twenty-four tracks of classic "dance" music from Dick Jurgens and his orchestra. The two albums contained on this reissue collection were both released by Columbia in the early 1950's.


  • 1.Five Foot Two, Eyes Of Blue (Has Anyone Seen My Girl?)
  • 2.Josephine
  • 3.It All Depends On You (Vocal By Ray Mcintosh & Ensemble)
  • 4.You Were Meant For Me
  • 5.At Sundown (Vocal By Ray Mcintosh & Ensemble)
  • 6.I'm In The Mood For Love
  • 7.Harlem Nocturne
  • 8.Push Cart Serenade (Vocal By Al Galante & Ensemble)
  • 9.Goodbye Girls, I'm Through
  • 10.Sleepytime Gals, Goodnight Ladies
  • 11.Goodnight Sweetheart
  • 12.Dreams Come True At Night
  • 13.Sweet Georgia Brown
  • 14.Tenderly
  • 15.Ballin' The Jack
  • 16.Two Loves Have I
  • 17.Medley: When I Take My Sugar, All Of Me, The Birth Of Blues
  • 18.You'Re My Thrill (Vocal By Stan Vann)
  • 19.But Not For Me (Vocal By Al Galante)
  • 20.Perfidia
  • 21.Alexander's Ragtime Band (Vocal By Al Galante & Ensemble)
  • 22.September Song
  • 23.Cumana
  • 24.Medley: My Melancholy Baby, Wrap Your Troubles In Dreams, I'll See You In My Dreams

Product Description:

While it isn't likely that orchestra leader Dick Jurgens' name will go down in history with Benny Goodman, he -- like many other bandleaders in the '50s -- gave the people what they wanted: good dance music. Your Dance Date and At the Aragon Ballroom were originally released by Columbia in 1950 and 1954, respectively, and together run almost an hour. A number of songs -- "Sweet Georgia Brown," "I'm in the Mood for Love," and "Alexander's Ragtime Band" -- will still be familiar in 2004. The primary appeal of Jurgens' music, however, is one of nostalgia. His style of orchestration, after all, must have seemed old-fashioned in the '50s, and the vocals -- the highlight of these recordings -- remind one of a lost world of singers like Bing Crosby. There are fine vocals by singers -- Ray Mcintosh and Al Galante -- who are as obscure today as Jurgens, but who nonetheless deliver good versions of romantic pieces like "It All Depends on You" and fun absurdities like "Push Cart Serenade." The perkiest instrumental is a fine turn on Earle Hagen's "Harlem Nocturne," a piece Jurgens and company fill with a lovely moodiness. For those who hold a place in their heart for the simple, tuneful songs of yesteryear, Your Dance Date/At the Aragon Ballroom will inspire listeners to return once again to the dancefloor. ~ Ronnie D. Lankford, Jr.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.8
Based on 5 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Dick Jurgens

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 13,173
  • UPC: 090431764329
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking titles in the Big Band & Swing genre: