Lisa Lisa & Cult Jam Spanish Fly / Straight To The Sky (2-CD)

Spanish Fly / Straight To The Sky (2-CD)
2 ratings
SALE: $10.98
List Price: $14.97
You Save: $3.99 (27% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  COL 7580
Brand New

Related products:

2 Original LPs On 2 CDs

CD Details

    Bonus Tracks:
  • Disc 1, Tracks 10-11: Original released on Columbia 12" single 44-6872 in 1987
  • Disc 1, Track 12: Original released on Columbia 12" single 44-7584 in 1987
  • Disc 1, Track 13: Original released on Columbia 12" single 44-7479 in 1987
  • Disc 2, Tracks 12-13: Original released on Columbia 12" single 44-68228 in 1989
  • Disc 2, Track 14: Original released on Columbia 12" single 44-7867 in 1988 (and appeared on the original motion picture soundtrack for Caddyshack II)
  • Disc 2, Track 15: Original released on Columbia 12" single 44-7868 in 1988
  • Disc 2, Track 16: Original released on Columbia 12" single 44-68819 in 1989
  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2004
  • Label: Collectables Records
  • Original Album #1: Columbia Records FC 4077 (1987)
  • Original Album #2: Columbia Records OC 44378 (1989)

Description by

Lisa Lisa and Cult Jam (Mike Hughes and "Spanador") were one of the strongest dance/pop-funk/R&B acts of the mid-1980s -- their strength originated from an association with Full Force, whose writing and production talents would later be utilized by the Backstreet Boys, Samantha Fox, Cheryl Pepsii Riley, Selena and others. "Spanish Fly" hit #7 on the Billboard 200 chart (going platinum), and yielded the singles "Lost In Emotion" (which hit #1 on numerous Billboard charts), "Head To Toe" (#1 on the Billboard 100 chart and others) and "Someone To Love For Me." The album "Straight To The Sky" hit #18 on the Top R&B/Hip-Hop Albums' chart in 1989, and yielded the hit "Little Jackie Wants To Be A Star." This reissue contains nine bonus tracks, all previously available as 12" singles.

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Everything Will B-Fine
  • 2.Head To Toe
  • 3.A Face In The Crowd
  • 4.Someone To Love Me For Me
  • 5.Talking Nonsense
  • 6.I Promise You
  • 7.A Fool Is Born Everyday
  • 8.Lost In Emotion
  • 9.Playing With Fire
  • 10.Heads, Toes And Feets (Foot Mix) (Bonus Track)
  • 11.Motion Lost! (Can't Find Myself Mix) (Bonus Track)
  • 12.F.I.N.E. (Full Force House Jam Mix) (Bonus Track)
  • 13.Spanish Fly (Full Force Groove, Featuring Full Force) (Bonus Track)

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Just Git It Together
  • 2.Little Jackie Wants To Be A Star
  • 3.Give Me Some Of Your Time
  • 4.U Never Nu How Good U Had It
  • 5.Kiss Your Tears Away
  • 6.Dance Forever
  • 7.Straight To The Sky
  • 8.Gotta Find Somebody New
  • 9.I Can't Take No More
  • 10.I Love What You Do For Me
  • 11.Talking Nonsense (Part 2)
  • 12.Star (The Jackie Mix) (Bonus Track)
  • 13.Jackie's Theme (Instrumental, Featuring Spanador) (Bonus Track)
  • 14.Go For Yours (Single Version, Featuring Full Force) (Bonus Track)
  • 15.Gopher Yers (Full Force Hole In One Mix, Featuring Full Force) (Bonus Track)
  • 16.Together-Ruh (Full Force On The Floor Mix) (Bonus Track)

Product Description:

2 LPs on 1 CD: SPANISH FLY (1987)/STRAIGHT TO THE SKY (1989).
Arrangers: Full Force; Lisa Lisa.
This Collectables reissue features Lisa Lisa & Cult Jam's hit record Spanish Fly, which propelled them into the top of the mainstream and dance charts in the mid-'80s on the backs of two hit singles: "Head to Toe" and the effervescent sass-pop hit "Lost in Emotion." It also features the less successful follow-up release "Straight to the Sky" and a generous plethora of remixes for both full-lengths. While there's a reasonable amount of forgettable filler found within these two releases, the hits have unquestionably stood the test of time and the remixes are the true stars here, foreshadowing early elements of Chicago house and more melodic Detroit techno (… la Inner City) throughout. It's a purchase only the die-hard dedicated fan would enjoy with repeated listens, but those looking to fill the gaps in their collections would be well served by checking this reasonably priced release out. ~ Rob Theakston
Collectables Records

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 2 ratings.
Write an online review to share your thoughts with other customers.
Classic Freestyle at its Best! Music Lover: from Boston, MA -- February, 25, 2007

This is a great 2 for 1. All the Classics here on this 2 CD Set. "Can You feel The Beat" to "All Cried Out". A MUST HAVE for any fan or collector of Freestyle! This 2 CD set also includes rare hard to find remixes!!!!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Lisa Lisa & Cult Jam

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 42,732
  • UPC: 090431758021
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Collectables Records Labels:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)