Kaleidoscope Beacon From Mars And Other Psychedelic Side Trips

Beacon From Mars And Other Psychedelic Side Trips
3 ratings
SALE: $10.98
List Price: $14.97
You Save: $3.99 (27% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  COL 7554
Brand New

Related products:

2 Original LPs on 1 CD

CD Details

  • Tracks 1-10 originally released as "Side Trips" (Epic BN 26304) in 1967.
  • Track 11 was originally released as B-side of Epic Single 5-10117 in 1967.
  • Tracks 13, 14, 15, 17 & 18 originally released on "Beacon From Mars" (Epic BN 26333) in October, 1967.
  • Tracks 19, 20 & 21 originally released on "Kaleidoscope" (Epic BN 26467) in 1969.
  • Track 22 was originally released on "Bernice" (Epic BN 26508) in 1970.
  • Tracks 12, 16 & 23 were unreleased until 1991 when they were released on Epic EK 47723.
  • Released: June 7, 2004
  • Originally Released: 2004
  • Label: Collectables Records

Description by OLDIES.com:

"Kaleidoscope were arguably the most eclectic band of the psychedelic era." (Allmusic.com) Formed by multi-instrumentalists David Lindley and Chris Darrow, Kaleidoscope added fiddle, banjo and other "exotic" instruments to the traditional rock line-up. This reissue contains their complete (and long out-of-print) debut LP on Epic, and selections from their "Beacon From Mars," "Kaleidoscope" and "Bernice" LPs.


  • 1.Egyptian Gardens
  • 2.If The Night
  • 3.Hesitation Blues
  • 4.Please
  • 5.Keep Your Mind Open
  • 6.Pulsating Dream
  • 7.Oh Death
  • 8.Come On In
  • 9.Why Try
  • 10.Minnie The Moocher
  • 11.Elevator Man
  • 12.Love Games
  • 13.I Found Out
  • 14.Baldheaded End Of A Broom
  • 15.Life Will Pass You By
  • 16.Egyptian Candy
  • 17.You Don't Love Me
  • 18.Beacon From Mars
  • 19.Lie To Me
  • 20.Cuckoo
  • 21.Banjo
  • 22.To Know Is Not To Be
  • 23.Sefan

Product Description:

Contains SIDE TRIPS (1967) plus selections from BEACON FROM MARS (1967) and
Kaleidescope includes: David Lindley (vocals, guitar, banjo, mandolin, violin); David Solomon Feldthouse (vocals, guitar, dobro, oud, bouzouki, vina, droumbeg, saz, bass); Chris Darrow (vocals, guitar, mandolin, bass);
Chester Crill (violin, harmonica, keyboards, bass); John Vidican (drums).
Personnel: Solomon Feldthouse (vocals, guitar, dobro, bouzouki, oud, saz); David Lindley (vocals, guitar, banjo, mandolin, violin); Chris Darrow (vocals, guitar, mandolin); Jeff Kaplan (vocals); Chester Crill (violin, harmonica, keyboards); John Vidican, Paul Lagos (drums).
Liner Note Author: Arnold Shaw.
Recording information: 04/12/1967-07/18/1969.
Parties seeking a more or less comprehensive assessment of Kaleidoscope's mid- to late-'60s Epic Records output are encouraged to locate 2004's Beacon from Mars & Other Psychedelic Side Trips compilation. As might be surmised by the name of this package, the bulk of the material originally came from the Side Trips (1967), A Beacon from Mars (1967), Incredible Kaleidoscope (1969), and Bernice (1970) long-players. Although each is represented, only the debut affair is offered in its entirety. Their initial inventive synthesis of straight-ahead rock, ragtime, and Eastern influences was a product of the times, as well as the undeniable and considerable talents of Solomon Feldthouse on saz, bouzouki, dobro, vina, oud, dumbek, dulcimer, fiddle, guitar, and vocals; David Lindley on guitar, banjo, fiddle, and mandolin; Chris Darrow on bass, guitar, mandolin, and vocals; Chester Crill on violin, viola, bass, keyboards, and harmonica; and John Vidican on percussion. The decidedly ethereal "Egyptian Gardens" and Darrow's noir-tinged "Keep Your Mind Open" contrast with Lindley's earthy retro readings of "Hesitation Blues," "Come On In," and Cab Calloway's "Minnie the Moocher." While there isn't really a bummer on the whole Side Trips platter, other standouts are the acidic "If the Night" and the pop harmonies of "Pulsating Dream." They followed with the even stronger collection, A Beacon from Mars, ranging in styles from the extended psychedelia of the title track and the folk-flavored "Life Will Pass You By" to the zany "Baldheaded End of a Broom." Deserving particular mention is their gritty reworking of Willie Cobbs' R&B classic "You Don't Love Me," rivaling Quicksilver Messenger Service's early live versions. Incredible Kaleidoscope provides the group-penned jam "Lie to Me," Lindley's inspired instrumental raga "Banjo," and a heavy adaptation of "Cuckoo," a traditional tune that was interpreted to great effect by Janis Joplin on Big Brother & the Holding Company (1967). Fittingly, the sole Bernice-era cut is also among the better ones in the form of the funky "To Know Is Not to Be." ~ Lindsay Planer
Collectables Records

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 3 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Kaleidoscope

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 12,204
  • UPC: 090431755426
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Collectables Records - Audio CDs:

Collectables Records Labels:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)