Lefty Frizzell Lefty Frizzell's Country Favorites / Saginaw Michigan

Lefty Frizzell's Country Favorites / Saginaw
3 ratings
SALE: $10.98
List Price: $14.97
You Save: $3.99 (27% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  COL 7532
Brand New

Related products:

Products with a similar style:

2 Original LPs on 1 CD

CD Details

  • Released: March 14, 2006
  • Originally Released: 2003
  • Label: Collectables Records
  • Original Album #1: Harmony 11186 (1966)
  • Original Album #2: Columbia Records 9186 (1964)

Description by OLDIES.com:

Lefty Frizzell is one of the most influential singers in the history of Country music. Between 1950 and 1954, he had fifteen songs charting in the Top 10. In 1964, he hit #1 with "Saginaw Michigan" - which not only crossed-over to the pop charts, but was also nominated for a Grammy.


  • 1.A King Without A Queen
  • 2.My Baby's Just Like Money
  • 3.Bring Your Sweet Self Back
  • 4.Run 'em Off
  • 5.I Love You Mostly
  • 6.You're Just Mine
  • 7.Give Me More, More, More
  • 8.From An Angel To A Devil
  • 9.Sweet Lies
  • 10.Two Hearts Broken Now
  • 11.Saginaw, Michigan
  • 12.Stranger
  • 13.What Good Did You Get
  • 14.There's No Food In This House
  • 15.When It Rains The Blues
  • 16.Hello To Him
  • 17.James River
  • 18.I'm Not The Man I'm Supposed To Be
  • 19.Through The Eyes Of A Fool
  • 20.I Was Coming Home To You
  • 21.Don't Let Her See Me Cry
  • 22.Lonely Heart

Product Description:

Recording information: 04/04/1952-01/22/1964.
One of country music's all-time greatest vocalists, Lefty Frizzell combined the smooth phrasing of commercial pop with the gritty roots of honky-tonk. Interestingly, this two-for-one disc, which brings together a pair of Frizell's best mid-'60s albums--splits the difference down the middle. COUNTRY FAVORITES has a decidedly rootsy feel, with plenty of twang and bite on offer with its Bob Wills's cover ("A King Without a Queen") and Frizzell's own saloon-tailored originals ("Run 'Em Off," "My Baby's Just Like Money"). Laid-back rhythms and fine lead guitar work help classify this set with the best of classic honky-tonk.
The lush Nashville production of SAGINAW, MICHIGAN, on the other hand, emphasizes Frizzell's more commercial side. The strings arrangements and back-up singers complement Frizzell's deep crooning voice, sanding down the rough edges of the vocalist's more down-home dates. There are some excellent examples of the story-song--one of Frizzell's fortes--in the title track (a huge hit for the artist), the hard-times document "There's No Food in This House," and the twist-of-fate tale ""Hello to Him (Goodbye to Me)." Whether rootsy or slickly produced, however, Frizzell's choice of material is always satisfying, and his mellifluous voice either lulls or thrills on every track.
Collectables Records

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 3 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Lefty Frizzell

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 12,235
  • UPC: 090431753224
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Collectables Records - Audio CDs:

Collectables Records Labels:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)