Mitchell and Ruff Brazilian Trip / Campus Concert

Brazilian Trip / Campus Concert
4 ratings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  COL 7475
on most orders of $50+
Brand New
2 Original LPs on 1 CD

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2002
  • Label: Collectables Records
  • Original Album #1: Epic BN-326360 (1968)
  • Original Album #2: Epic LN-3318 (1957)

Description by

Mitchell and Ruff introduced jazz to the Soviet Union in 1959 by playing and teaching at the conservatories in Moscow and Leningrad, and later did the same in Communist China. Dwike Mitchell studied for two years at the conservatory in Philadelpha before joining Lionel Hampton's band. Willie Ruff studied at Yale under Paul Hindemith before also joining Hampton's band. Both left in the mid-1950's, becoming one of the "powerhouse" combos of the genre.


  • 1.Tanto Canto
  • 2.Deixa Pra La
  • 3.Nao Deixa
  • 4.Chuva
  • 5.Sonhando
  • 6.Ah Voce
  • 7.Nos
  • 8.Companheiro
  • 9.Sem Mais Chorar
  • 10.Nada Mais
  • 11.They Can't Take That Away From Me
  • 12.Red Sails In The Sunset
  • 13.My Heart Stood Still
  • 14.Little Girl Blue
  • 15.I'll Take Romance
  • 16.Body And Soul
  • 17.'Round Midnight
  • 18.But Beautiful
  • 19.Out Of This World

Product Description:

The Mitchell-Ruff Duo: Dwike Mitchell (piano); Will Ruff (bass).
Originally released on Epic.
Because so few of the recordings by the Mitchell-Ruff Duo have been reissued during the CD era, the reappearance of their recordings on various Collectables releases has been very welcome. Two separate LPs, recorded nearly a decade apart for Epic, make up this two-CD compilation. Brazilian Trip, though recorded in New York City in the summer of 1966, finds the American duo working with a rotating cast of young Brazilian musicians, playing ten sambas written by the visitors, only one of whom, drummer Chico Batera, was a full-time musician. Although these works never caught on in the U.S. compared to the incredible success of the recordings made by Antonio Carlos Jobim and Joao Gilberto, Mitchell and Ruff (the latter doubling on bass and French horn) gel very nicely with the Brazilians during this mostly low-key set. "Sem Mais Chorar" is a rare opportunity to hear Mitchell play solo piano. The original title of the other disc, Campus Concert, is rather misleading, as it actually consists of four separate studio recordings between May 22 and August 31, 1956. The influence of Oscar Peterson on Mitchell is apparent during the roller coaster interpretation of "They Can't Take That Away from Me," while the impressionistic take of the now out of favor "Red Sails in the Sunset" is simply breathtaking. Two tracks stand out during these sessions: a delicate but extensive exploration of "Little Girl Blue," and the richly textured "Body and Soul," with Ruff starting on his masterful French horn before switching to bass as the piece takes flight. Although they evidently haven't recorded together since 1983, every album that Dwike Mitchell and Willie Ruff have made in a group setting is worth acquiring; this compilation is a good starting point for anyone unfamiliar with their work. ~ Ken Dryden
Collectables Records - Audio CDs

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.8
Based on 4 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Get Email Alerts for Mitchell and Ruff

Product Info

  • UPC: 090431747520
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)