Josh White Josh At Midnight / Sings Ballads & Blues

Josh At Midnight / Sings Ballads & Blues
4 ratings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  COL 7463
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

2 Original LPs on 1 CD

CD Details

  • Released: March 14, 2006
  • Originally Released: 2002
  • Label: Collectables Records
  • Original Album #1: Elektra 102 (1956)
  • Original Album #2: Elektra 114 (1957)

Description by

Josh White, a folk singer of international fame, is known for his unique guitar style and interpretations of ballads, blues, work songs and spirituals. On these two albums, both originally released by Eletrka in the mid-1950s, he is accompanied by Al Hall on bass and Sonny Greer on drums and brushes.


  • 1.St. James Infirmiry
  • 2.Raise A Ruckus
  • 3.Scandalize My Name
  • 4.Jesus Gonna Make Up My Dyin' Bed
  • 5.Timber (Jerry The Mule)
  • 6.Jelly Jelly
  • 7.One Meat Ball
  • 8.Joshua Fit The Battle Of Jericho
  • 9.Don't Lie Buddy
  • 10.Number Twelve Train
  • 11.Peter
  • 12.Talkin' Names
  • 13.Midnight Special
  • 14.Miss Otis Regrets
  • 15.Helleleu
  • 16.Woman Sure Is A Curious Critter
  • 17.Prison Bound Blues
  • 18.Gloomy Sunday
  • 19.Ball And Chain Blues
  • 20.One For My Baby
  • 21.Jim Crow Train
  • 22.Told My Captain
  • 23.So Soon In The Mornin'
  • 24.Bury The Body

Product Description:

Personnel: Josh White (vocals, guitar); Al Hall (bass); Sonny Greer (drums).
Originally released on Elektra (102) & Elektra (114).
Liner Note Author: Kenneth S. Goldstein.
Elektra Records' president, Jac Holzman, was usually one step ahead of the competition. In the early '50s, way before the Kingston Trio kicked off the folk revival with "Tom Dooley," he recorded Bob Gibson and Theodore Bikel. He also recorded folk-blues artists like Josh White. Josh at Midnight/Ballads and Blues were recorded in 1956 and 1957, respectively, and helped to reintroduce the singer to a new audience. Josh at Midnight represents a couple of approaches, switching between solo cuts like "St. James Infirmary" and duos where he's accompanied by another, deeper-voiced singer, like "Raise a Rukus." There's also the interesting coupling of racy songs like "Jelly Jelly!" and religious ones like "Joshua Fit the Battle of Jericho." Ballads and Blues chooses a more integrated, progressive approach, adding drums and bass. While folk purists may find these additions sacrilegious, White's soulful renditions of "Miss Otis Regrets" and "One for My Baby" work extremely well in these settings. It's interesting that despite the change in arrangements on these cuts, he continues to play acoustic guitar. It's also fascinating that Holzman didn't object to the inclusion of a political piece like "Jim Crow Train." Taken together, Josh at Midnight/Ballads and Blues offer 70 minutes of music and provide a good introduction to a fine blues singer. ~ Ronnie D. Lankford, Jr.
Collectables Records - Audio CDs

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 5.0
Based on 4 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Get Email Alerts for Josh White

Product Info

  • UPC: 090431746325
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)