Johnnie Ray Johnnie Ray / On The Trail

Johnnie Ray / On The Trail
1 rating
SALE: $7.49
List Price: $14.97
You Save: $7.48 (50% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  COL 7439
Brand New

Products with a similar style:

2 Original LPs on 1 CD

CD Details

  • Produced By: Owen Bradley ("On The Trail")
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2002
  • Label: Collectables Records
  • Original Album #1: Columbia Records CL 6199 (1952)
  • Original Album #2: Columbia Records CS 8180 (1959)

Description by

"Johnnie Ray" was Ray's first album on the Columbia label (he recorded the Mitch Miller-produced "Cry" for Okeh, Columbia's R&B subsidiary). On it, he's backed by both The Buddy Cole Quartet (tracks #1-4) and the Four Lads (tracks #5-8). Incidentally, it is also known as the first album to be released without a formal title. "On The Trail" features Ray covering twelve familiar and well-loved Western tunes, backed by an orchestra conducted by Boudleaux Bryant with Floyd Cramer on piano.


  • 1.Don't Blame Me
  • 2.Walkin' My Baby Back Home
  • 3.Don't Take Your Love From Me
  • 4.All Of Me
  • 5.Give Me Time
  • 6.The Lady Drinks Champagne
  • 7.Out In The Cold Again
  • 8.Coffee And Cigarettes
  • 9.Wagon Wheels
  • 10.Empty Saddles
  • 11.Tumbling Tumbleweeds
  • 12.The Last Round-Up
  • 13.Home On The Range
  • 14.Bury Me Out On The Lone Prairie
  • 15.When It's Springtime In The Rockies
  • 16.Ridin' Home
  • 17.Twilight On The Trail
  • 18.Red River Valley
  • 19.I'm An Old Cowhand
  • 20.Cool Water

Product Description:

2 LPs on 1 CD: JOHNNIE RAY (1952)/ON THE TRAIL (1959).
Personnel includes; Johnnie Ray, The Four Lads (vocals); The Buddy Cole Quartet.
Originally released on Columbia.
Singer Johnnie Ray had a dynamic, powerful voice and made consistently even records throughout the '50s. With that in mind, his records take on a totally different standard of excellence considering Ray was practically deaf. The singer's refusal to be pigeonholed finds him balancing varying styles, incorporating them evenly and making it work, as proven on this Collectables two-fer. This collection highlights Ray's earliest pop records from 1952, mainly standards like "All of Me" and "Don't Blame Me," and the country-pop of On the Trail from 1959, featuring "Tumbling Tumbleweeds," "Home on the Range," and "I'm an Old Cowhand." ~ Al Campbell
Collectables Records

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Johnnie Ray

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 14,646
  • UPC: 090431743928
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Collectables Records - Audio CDs:

Collectables Records Labels:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)