Chet Atkins Music From Nashville, My Hometown / Chet

Music From Nashville, My Hometown / Chet
5 ratings
SALE: $9.98
List Price: $12.97
You Save: $2.99 (23% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  COL 7324
Brand New
2 Original LPs on 1 CD

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2006
  • Label: Collectables Records
  • Original Album #1: Camden 981 (1966)
  • Original Album #2: Camden 2182 (1967)

Description by

The crossover success of Country music to Pop can truly be credited to Chet Atkins; a man who celebrated a career that spanned six decades. Music from Nashville, My Home Town and Chet Atkins were both released by Camden in 1966 and 1967, respectively, and they showcase the guitar legend in the peak of his career.


  • 1.Prancin' Filly
  • 2.Sidewalks Of Nashville
  • 3.Solo Soul
  • 4.Summer Sunday
  • 5.Around The World
  • 6.Ain't We Got Fun
  • 7.Yours
  • 8.Love Offering
  • 9.George's Theme
  • 10.Lonesome Road
  • 11.Foggy Mountain Top
  • 12.Truck Drivers Blues
  • 13.Bandera
  • 14.Make The World Go Away
  • 15.Oh Baby Mine (I Get So Lonely)
  • 16.Oklahoma Hills
  • 17.Just Out Of Reach
  • 18.Wabash Cannon Ball
  • 19.Release Me (And Let Me Love Again)
  • 20.Goin' Down The Road (Feelin? Bad)

Product Description:

Arranger: Chet Atkins.
Chet Atkins' sleek, elegant guitar-playing almost single-handedly ushered in the so-called Nashville sound in the 1950s and 1960s, and in retrospect his perfect tone and easy grace on the guitar on his solo albums almost seem closer to smooth jazz than country. This set combines on a single disc two of his mid-'60s albums for RCA's Camden Records imprint, 1966's Music from Nashville, My Home Town and 1967's Chet Atkins, and the two outings fit together seamlessly into an impressive look at this amazing player. Atkins was a master musician working in a genre all too often prone to caricature and posturing, and he did it all without wearing a big hat. If Atkins wasn't exactly perceived as a guitar god by the public, perhaps because everything he did seemed so smooth and effortless, other players certainly knew what he could do. He was the ultimate guitar players' guitar player. Among the many highlights here are the brisk "Prancin' Filly" that opens things, the soulful "Sidewalks of Nashville," a lovely version of "Make the World Go Away," and the bubbling take on "Goin' Down the Road Feelin' Bad" that closes things on this two-fer. He even sings here -- although just barely -- on "Solo Soul." Atkins' many albums are remarkably consistent, and these two 1960s outings make for a fine introduction to this quietly masterful musician. ~ Steve Leggett
Collectables Records

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 5 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Chet Atkins

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 20,053
  • UPC: 090431732427
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Country: Nashville Sound Music Categories:

Collectables Records - Audio CDs:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)