Chet Atkins Mr. Atkins Guitar Picker / Finger Pickin' Good

Mr. Atkins Guitar Picker / Finger Pickin' Good
3 ratings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  COL 7312
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

2 Original LPs on 1 CD

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2004
  • Label: Collectables Records
  • Original Album #1: RCA Camden CAL-1090 (1964)
  • Original Album #2: RCA Camden CAL-1067 (1963)

Description by

This 19-track audio CD contains two Chet Aktins albums originally released on the RCA Victor budget label Camden.


  • 1.Kicky
  • 2.You'Re Just In Love
  • 3.Early Times
  • 4.Walk, Don't Run
  • 5.El Cumbanchero
  • 6.Anna
  • 7.Love Letters
  • 8.Yankee Doodle Dixie
  • 9.Shadow Waltz
  • 10.Satan's Doll
  • 11.Wheels
  • 12.Levee Walking
  • 13.Cattle Call
  • 14.Old Joe Clark
  • 15.Yakety Axe
  • 16.How's The World Treating You
  • 17.Wimoweh
  • 18.Blowin' In The Wind
  • 19.Back To Old Smoky Mountain

Product Description:

Arranger: Chet Atkins.
On this two-for-one CD, most of the songs are culled from the Great American Songbook or the Appalachian folk tradition. Exceptions are a superb Western version of Bob Dylan's "Blowin' in the Wind" and the much-loved African-based tune "Wimoweh," which may be better known as "The Lion Sleeps Tonight." Thoughtful renditions of Irving Berlin's "You're Just in Love" and Harry Warren's "Shadow Waltz" show the scope of Atkins's repertoire, as do clever arrangements of lesser-known country standards "Cattle Call" and "Old Joe Clark." Atkins's upbeat hit "Yakety Axe" is also included toward the end of the disc.
With every track recorded before 1972, this is really classic Atkins material. He plays with all the Travis-picking pizzazz for which he's famous, and the collection moves from livelier tunes to ballads and back again with both grace and alacrity. The last track, "Back to Old Smoky Mountain," is the only selection that contains vocals (as sung by Atkins and a small female choir), and this cheerful song may be the highlight of the disc.
Collectables Records - Audio CDs

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.8
Based on 3 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Get Email Alerts for Chet Atkins

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 48,792
  • UPC: 090431731222
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking CD:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)