Derek Webb Stockholm Syndrome

Stockholm Syndrome
25 ratings
Price: $11.58
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  QCCK
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: September 1, 2009
  • Label: Sony


  • 1.Opening Credits
  • 2.Black Eye
  • 3.Cobra Con
  • 4.Freddie, Please
  • 5.The Spirit vs. The Kick Drum
  • 6.The State
  • 7.The Proverbial Gun
  • 8.I Love / Hate You
  • 9.Becoming a Slave
  • 10.Jena & Jimmy
  • 11.Heaven
  • 12.What You Give Up to Get It
  • 13.American Flag Umbrella

Product Description:

Personnel: McKenzie Smith (drums).
Audio Mixer: Joshua Moore.
Recording information: Fort Sumner Studio, Nashville, TN; Pozo Hondo Studios, Round Top, TX; Sumner Studio; The Moore House, Houston, TX.
Photographer: Aaron Greene.
Even prior to its official release, some critics were referring to Derek Webb's album STOCKHOLM SYNDROME as one of the most important Christian records ever released. An agitator in the mold of the great Larry Norman, the ex-Caedmon's Call vocalist made a habit of calling out all manner of Christian hypocrisy throughout his career. On this 2009 release, though, Webb allowed his rebellious nature to extend beyond his politics into his art. Part Beck, part Mitchell Froom, part Radiohead KID A, STOCKHOLM SYNDROME represents a significant break with Webb's previous, pop singer-songwriter-style work, instead delivering a cut-and-paste collage of loops, found sounds, and jarring synthesizers that underscore the hard questions and frequent sense of alienation represented by the album's lyrics. Songs such as "What Matters More" and "Freddie Please" are frank criticisms of evangelists' mixed messages regarding faith and homosexuality, and they match challenging points of view with skittering, Moby-like electronics and, in the latter case, a loping, computer generated, 1950s ballad-like backing which features a disjointed, amateurish guitar solo. Throughout, the record is unnerving and off-kilter, consistently challenging listeners to simultaneously re-examine their ideas about Christian music's stylistic boundaries and the practice of Christian faith itself.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.6
Based on 25 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • UPC: 886975400928
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)