Oleta Adams The Very Best of Oleta Adams [#1]

The Very Best of Oleta Adams [#1]
31 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 2 copies left
SUPER SAVINGS: $8.98 Limited Time Only
List Price: $9.99
You Save: $1.01 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  CQW8
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: March 20, 2006
  • Originally Released: 2006
  • Label: Spectrum Audio UK


  • 1.Rhythm of Life
  • 2.Don't Let The Sun Go Down On Me
  • 3.Never Knew Love
  • 4.Get Here
  • 5.Hold Me For A While
  • 6.Many Rivers To Cross
  • 7.Circle of Love
  • 8.My Heart Won't Lie
  • 9.Lover's Holiday
  • 10.Embraceable You
  • 11.We Will Meet Again
  • 12.Love Begins At Home
  • 13.I Just Had To Hear Your Voice
  • 14.Woman In Chains - Oleta Adams, Tears For Fears
  • 15.I Knew You When
  • 16.Window of Hope

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Oleta Adams (vocals, piano, keyboards, Hammond B-3 organ, synthesizer); Michael J. Powell, Donnie Lyle, Ray Fuller, Michael Landau, Roland Orzabal, Vernon "Ice" Black, Stef Burns (guitar); Tom Scott (tenor saxophone); William Gregory (baritone saxophone); Chuck Findley (flugelhorn); Frank Martin (piano, electric piano); Vernon Fails (electric piano); Michael J. Powell (keyboards, percussion); Vasssal Benford, Dave Bascombe, Mike Mani, Aaron Zigman (keyboards); Simon Clark, Joel Brooks, Neil Larson (Hammond B-3 organ); Roland Orzabal (synthesizer); Al Turner, Pino Palladino, Tommy Brown, Freddie Washington, Larry Kimpel (bass); John Cushon, Mario Winans, Narada Michael Walden, Richie Stevens (drums); Irene Cara (background vocals).
Producers include: Roland Orzabal, Dave Bascombe, Vassal Benford, Stewart Levine, Narada Michael Walden.
Compilation producer: Bas Hartong.
Digitally remastered by Fred Meyer (Polygram Studios).
The Very Best of Oleta Adams primarily consists of material from her first three albums. The big mystery of this 1998 collection is the lack of material from 1990's Circle of One, by far her strongest and more musically varied set of songs. A mere three tunes are included here: "Get Here," the Soul II Soul-styled "Rhythm of Life," and the rousing "Circle of One." Her weaker second album, Evolution, however, is represented by no less than five tracks, and four songs from Moving On also appear. The Very Best of Oleta Adams also includes material that was never previously available on an Oleta Adams album. Tears for Fears' Seeds of Love hit "Woman in Chains" is here, and Adams' pitch-perfect vocal harmonies play off Roland Orzabal's melodramatic bombast surprisingly well. Though a more subtle arrangement may have been more successful, her rendition of "Don't Let the Sun Go Down on Me" (which appeared on the Elton John/Bernie Taupin covers album Two Rooms in 1991) is performed with such gusto Elton John's version pales by comparison. Adams also shows off her astonishing range on the Gershwin classic "Embraceable You" and a nice reading of Jimmy Cliff's "Many Rivers to Cross." Although The Very Best of Oleta Adams lacks two of her best performances -- Circle of One's gorgeous version of "Everything Must Change" (which has been recorded by countless artists, including Gene Harris, Nina Simone, Carmen McRae, and Barbra Streisand) and the aforementioned "New York State of Mind" -- it is a pleasant collection that showcases Oleta Adams' beautiful voice, even on lackluster material. ~ William Cooper

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 31 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Oleta Adams

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 59,309
  • UPC: 731453437920
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)