Clancy Brothers & Tommy Makem In Person at Carnegie Hall (Live)

In Person at Carnegie Hall (Live)
18 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 2 copies left
SALE: $5.97
List Price: $7.98
You Save: $2.01 (25% Off)
or Mix & Match 10 CDs for $49.90
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  SSP 724194
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: February 1, 2008
  • Originally Released: 2008
  • Label: Sbme Special Mkts.

Entertainment Reviews:

Record Collector (magazine) - p.81
5 stars out of 5 -- "[A] stunning, often delightfully raffish document of Irish folk music....The quartet deftly blend theatre, poetry, music and hipster repartee..."


  • 1.Johnson's Motor Car
  • 2.The Juice of the Barley
  • 3.O'Driscoll (The Host of the Air)
  • 4.Reilly's Daughter
  • 5.Patriot Game
  • 6.Legion of the Rearguard
  • 7.Oro Se Do Bheatha Bhaile
  • 8.A Jug of Punch
  • 9.Galway Bay
  • 10.Children's Medley
  • 11.The Parting Glass

Product Description:

Also available in a 3-pack with IN CONCERT and LUCK OF THE IRISH.
Personnel: Patrick Clancy, Liam Clancy, Tom Clancy, Tommy Makem.
Recorded live at Carnegie Hall, New York, New York.
Irish folk music isn't for everyone, but if you're the slightest bit interested in the genre, the Clancy Brothers and Tommy Makem are required listening. While both the Clancys and Makem have produced some fine solo albums, their best work remains their collaborative recordings. Particularly on live records like this one, their love for the music and culture of Ireland comes across loud and clear, delighting the audience and the listener. Thanks to an above-average collection of tunes and the lively performance of the musicians, In Person at Carnegie Hall is a great starting point for the uninitiated. It also serves as a good tolerance test for listeners who are uncertain whether Irish music is really for them; if you don't like what you hear on this album, chances are you won't care for anything else the genre has to offer. Of course, it's hard to imagine anyone not being drawn in by the opening one-two punch of "Johnson's Motorcar" and "The Juice of the Barley." And it just gets better from there. Not only are all the songs fun to listen to, but each one represents a particular type of Irish tune. There's the drinking song ("A Jug of Punch"), the protest song ("Patriot Game"), and the rollicking singalong ("Reilly's Daughter"). But the standout here is the 12-and-a-half-minute track "The Children's Medley," in which the musicians string together more than a dozen different songs and poems from their childhood. The result is beautiful pastiche of old-old-school Irish folk music that makes you appreciate the history and beauty of the form. ~ Ethan Alter

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 18 ratings.
Write an online review to share your thoughts with other customers.
One of their Greatest Music Lover: from NY -- January, 5, 2008

This is a group that was at their best on the stage and this is an excellent recording.

Get Email Alerts for Clancy Brothers & Tommy Makem

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 65,002
  • UPC: 886972419428
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking titles in the Bargain Audio CDs & Priceless Collection series:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)