Del The Funky Homosapien The Best of Del tha Funkee Homosapien: The Elektra Years

The Best of Del tha Funkee Homosapien: The
8 ratings
Hurry! Only 1 copy left Sorry no back-orders
SALE: $9.88
List Price: $10.98
You Save: $1.10 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD
sku:  323ED
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2004
  • Label: Elektra / WEA


  • 1.Mistadobalina
  • 2.Made in America - (SD 50 B Boy Mix, remix)
  • 3.Dr. Bombay
  • 4.Wrong Place - (Casual Remix, Casual remix)
  • 5.Wack M.C.'s
  • 6.Ahonetwo, Ahonetwo - (Remix, remix)
  • 7.Catch a Bad One - (Remix, remix)
  • 8.Sleepin' on My Couch
  • 9.Eye Examination
  • 10.Burnt - (featuring The Hieroglyphics)
  • 11.Missing Link - (featuring Dinosaur Jr.)
  • 12.Undisputed Champs, The - (featuring Q-Tip / Peplove)
  • 13.Hoodz Come in Dozens - (SD50 Remix, SD50 remix)
  • 14.Mistadobalina - (Remix, remix)
  • 15.Ahonetwo, Ahonetwo
  • 16.Dr. Bombay - (Remix, remix)

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Del Tha Funkee Homosapien, Q-Tip, Dinosaur Jr., Peplove.
Producers include: Del, Boogiemen, Ice Cube, The Stimulated Dummies, Ice Cube.
Compilation producers: Barry "Rockbarry" Benson, Trevor Baade.
Audio Mixers: Del the Funky Homosapien; J Mascis; Tim Latham.
Audio Remasterer: Michael Hateley.
Audio Remixers: Daryll Dobson; A Plus ; Geeby Dajani; John Gamble; Dante Ross.
Liner Note Author: Charles Mudede.
Recording information: Chung King Studios, New York, NY; Echo Sound Recording, Los Angeles, CA; Hyde Street Studios, San Francisco, CA; Starlite Sound, Richmond, CA.
Photographers: George Campos; Craig Wetherby.
Arrangers: A Plus ; Opio; Tajai.
"Alright this is D-E-L, and I'm calling from 3838 [unintelligible] Way, yeah I just wanted to call to say 'F*ck the radio!'" And so began the unpredictable, uneven, but ultimately fruitful career of Del tha Funkee Homosapien. This unlikely introduction came at the end of "Turn Off the Radio," from his cousin Ice Cube's first solo album. When Del the lovable ragamuffin's first Ice Cube-produced single was released later on, in early 1992, most expected a junior version of Ice Cube -- but what they got was something pitted between that hard-edged funk sound and party-down, proto-backpacker indie rap. From this one song -- and the equally silly video that accompanied it -- it was plain to see that Del would not be dealing in the kind of vicious material mastered by his cousin and his former crewmates in Da Lench Mob. The friend who would not leave and front-porch golden-shower revenge were his domain, not white devils and spraying AK-47s. As debut album I Wish My Brother George Was Here swelled in stature after release, Del's path took a few twists and turns, but this set for Rhino -- somewhat mislabeled as a best-of -- sticks with the MC's time spent on Elektra. This includes most of the best moments from George and 1994 follow-up, No Need for Alarm, making it valuable for those who haven't been able to track them down. However, those who have followed Del all along should also take note; this set also contains a small bounty of B-sides, most of which are of some import. A few extraneous remixes make the set drag -- and, boy, that Judgment Night collaboration with Dinosaur Jr. should never leave its point of origin -- but it's still a win-win situation for all of those involved. The package scores bonus points for its informative liner notes, not to mention the shout-out to borderline-genius writer Kodwo Eshun. ~ Andy Kellman

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 8 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Sale Items:
Get Email Alerts for Del The Funky Homosapien

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 73,727
  • UPC: 081227394028
  • Shipping Weight: 0.21/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)