Sounds Of Blackness Africa to America: The Journey of the Drum

Africa to America: The Journey of the Drum
10 ratings
Only 6 copies left
Price: $9.89
List Price: $10.99
You Save: $1.10 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  323C5
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1994
  • Label: Perspective Records

Entertainment Reviews:

Vibe - 5/94, p.110
"...R&B's merging of the sacred and the profane has become so familiar that the blending of the holy with the historic on AFRICA TO AMERICA is a fresh breath of life for an increasingly stale format....elevates the Sounds to a rare level of transcendence...."


  • Buy for $0.991.Hold On, Pt. 1 - (North American Indian)
  • Buy for $0.992.I'm Going All the Way - (North American Indian)
  • Buy for $0.993.Ah Been Buked, Pt. 1
  • Buy for $1.294.I Believe - (North American Indian)
  • Buy for $0.995.Hold On, Pt. 2
  • Buy for $0.996.Everything Is Gonna Be Alright - (North American Indian)
  • Buy for $0.997.Sun-Up to Sundown - (North American Indian)
  • Buy for $0.998.Lord Will Make a Way, The - (North American Indian)
  • Buy for $0.999.He Took Away All My Pain - (North American Indian)
  • Buy for $0.9910.Place in My Heart, A - (North American Indian)
  • Buy for $0.9911.Harder They Are the Bigger They Fall, The - (North American Indian)
  • Buy for $0.9912.Drum, The (Africa to America)
  • Buy for $0.9913.African Medley: Royal Kingdom / Rise / My Native Land: Royal Kingdoms / Rise / My Native Land - (North American Indian)
  • Buy for $0.9914.Very Special Love, A - (North American Indian)
  • Buy for $0.9915.Strange Fruit - (North American Indian)
  • Buy for $0.9916.Black Butterfly - (North American Indian)
  • Buy for $0.9917.You've Taken My Blues and Gone - (North American Indian)
  • Buy for $0.9918.Livin' the Blues - (North American Indian)
  • Buy for $0.9919.Ah Been Buked, Pt. 2 - (North American Indian)

Product Description:

Sounds Of Blackness includes: Gary Hines (conductor); Ann Nesby, Core Cotton, Renee McCall, Shirley Marie Graham, Alecia Russel, Jayn Bell, Patricia Lacy, Geoff Jones, Carrie Harrington, Billy Steele (vocals); Mufundsi Joseph Young (rap); Jimmy Jam, Terry Lewis (various instruments); Kevin Pierce (guitar); Jimmy Wright (electric piano, keyboards); Trenon Graham (drums); Stokley (drums, percussion); Jeff Taylor (drum programming).
Producers: Jimmy Jam, Terry Lewis, Gary Hines.
Recorded at Flyte Tyme Studios, Edina, Minnesota.
AFRICA TO AMERICA: THE JOURNEY OF THE DRUM includes several traditional black musical styles. It includes a reading from a piece by Langston Hughes and an a cappella version of "Strange Fruit."
Personnel: Sounds of Blackness (vocals, background vocals); Jimmy Wright (vocals, electric piano, organ, keyboards, synthesizer); Billy Steele (vocals, keyboards); Libby Turner, Renee McCall, Carrie Harrington (vocals, background vocals); Shirley Marie Graham, Core Cotton, Eunique Mack, Alecia Russell, Dexter Conyers, Geoffrey Jones, Patricia Lacy, James Smith, Ann Nesby, Robert Anderson (vocals); Rev. Joseph Young, Jr. (rap vocals); Kevin Pierce, LaSalle Gabriel, Nate Sabin (guitar); Robin Berry (harp); Franklin Wharton (alto saxophone); Louis J. Wilson (tenor saxophone); David Wright III (baritone saxophone); Larry Sims (trumpet); Gary Hines (piano, keyboards, drum programming); Jimmy Jam (keyboards, synthesizer, drum programming); Trenon Graham, Stokely (drums, percussion); Marcus Wise (tabla); Kevin Whitlock (percussion); Jeff Taylor (drum programming); Jamecia Bennett (background vocals).
Audio Mixers: David Rideau; Steve Hodge.
Recording information: Flyte Tyme studios, Edina, MN.
Arrangers: Gary Hines; Jimmy Jam; Jimmy Wright; Terry Lewis.
Nothing on Africa to America tops the shining moments -- "Optimistic" and "Testify" -- on Sounds of Blackness' debut, Evolution of Gospel. However, all things considered, Africa to America is probably the better album. And if it's not the better album, it's surely the more consistent of the two. Where Jimmy Jam's and Terry Lewis' efforts were somewhat limited on Evolution of Gospel, with the exception of the album's highlights, the producers devoted themselves to this 1994 follow-up, producing not just a few great songs but rather numerous great songs: "I Believe," "I'm Going All the Way," "Black Butterfly," "Everything Is Going to Be Alright," and "The Harder They Are, the Bigger They Fall," in particular. And while these songs don't depart too far from the potent new jack swing-meets-gospel sound of "Optimistic," that's a good thing -- Jam and Lewis were on top of their game at the time and brought no shortage of their trademark dense percussive rhythms to Africa to America. So, even if the production sounds a little calculated and perhaps even outdated for its time, it made for some amazing songs. It wasn't until subsequent albums that it became evident just how integral Jam and Lewis were to Sounds of Blackness' success. Along with Evolution of Gospel, Africa to America remains the group's pinnacle. With Jam and Lewis, Sounds of Blackness sounded fresh and relevant; without the duo, they sounded like any other gospel group. ~ Jason Birchmeier

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 10 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Sounds Of Blackness

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 64,390
  • UPC: 731454900621
  • Shipping Weight: 0.22/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)