Shirley Brown Unleashed

4 ratings
Price: $17.08
List Price: $18.98
You Save: $1.90 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  EXGX
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2009
  • Label: Malaco Records

Entertainment Reviews:

Living Blues - p.46
"Brown is in typically awesome voice throughout the 13-song set of deep southern soul music, her radiant mezzo pipes soaring with melismatic majesty."


  • Buy for $0.991.Upside Down
  • Buy for $0.992.I Don't Wanna Leave
  • Buy for $0.993.Clean House
  • Buy for $0.994.You Should'a Known Better
  • Buy for $0.995.I Wish You Didn't Love Me So Good
  • Buy for $0.996.Let Me Relax You
  • Buy for $0.997.If You Can't Hit It Right
  • Buy for $0.998.A Sample Of My Love
  • Buy for $0.999.You Gave Me Hell
  • Buy for $0.9910.Why, When I Hear Your Name
  • Buy for $0.9911.You Ain't Gonna Get No More Of My Love
  • Buy for $0.9912.Watch What You Tell Your Friends

Product Description:

Shirley Brown is one of those gritty, irrepressible, no-nonsense retro-soul singers coming straight from the bag of early Ruth Brown and especially Aretha Franklin. She's not a blues belter, a complainer, or a sultry siren, but a woman who puts up with no guff, and tells it like it is with authentic honesty and laser beam searing truth. Her themes are typical as woman-to-man couples tales go, pulling few punches and mincing no words. This CD, her first since 2005 and fourteenth overall, is straight, no chaser, Southern style rhythm & blues music with a solid backbeat, at times a bit '70s dance oriented, with a Muscle Shoals/Watt-Stax sound that has no interest in being updated, save the use of occasional synthesizers acting as a horn section. It's the kind of take it or leave it attitude that faded from popular view many years prior, but Brown still finds irrepressibly timeless. She's totally confused about love during "Upside Down" as Brown bounces off her background singers, regretful on the lighter "I Wish You Didn't Love Me So Good," and recites a letter to her lost lover for the lonely hours and past memories of "When I Hear Your Name." Her assertive side comes out in singing the hard, funky "Clean House" where her cheating significant other gets the boot, she's scolding on the following cut, Brown's own song "You Should'a Known Better," and declares the affair over and done with in the slow, confrontational tune of abject rejection "You Ain't Gonna Get No More of My Love." Brown has her tender, seductive moments during "Let Me Relax You" with its cool-down, disco straight beat, and is demanding in the sense that she's an all or nothing kind of woman as expressed on the strait-laced "If You Can't Hit It Right" and the hit song of the set, the good turned bad tune "(You Promised Me Heaven, But) You Gave Me Hell." Though the music is solidly in the groove, there's very little in the music that is uplifting or purely positive, but enjoyable as lessons in living and being a grown-up. It's far from a contemporary window into Brown's soul, with two-timing, heart-wrenching music, and a survivor's attitude at the core of her being. ~ Michael G. Nastos

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 4 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Shirley Brown

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 69,103
  • UPC: 048021753529
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)
Memorial Day: 10am-6pm