Roy Acuff Hand-Clapping Gospel Songs

Hand-Clapping Gospel Songs
2 ratings
Price: $10.78
List Price: $11.98
You Save: $1.20 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  EXFD
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: April 4, 2008
  • Label: Varese Fontana


  • 1.Somebody Touched Me
  • 2.Turn Your Radio On
  • 3.Jesus Died For Me
  • 4.Wait For the Light to Shine
  • 5.Lord, Build Me a Cabin in Glory
  • 6.Thank God
  • 7.That Glory Bound Train
  • 8.I Saw the Light
  • 9.I'll Fly Away
  • 10.It's All Right Now
  • 11.Traveling the Highway Home
  • 12.Glory Is Coming
  • 13.The Great Speckled Bird
  • 14.The Precious Jewel
  • 15.This World Can't Stand Long
  • 16.Hallelujah Square
  • 17.Little Moses
  • 18.From Cradle to Cross to Crown

Product Description:

Devoting an entire album to gospel songs wasn't a bad idea for Acuff, though coming in the same year as an Acuff album of folk songs (1963's Sings American Folk Songs), it seemed to indicate that the country legend was latching onto broad concepts in order to expedite spinning out multiple albums within a small time frame. Traditional numbers are mixed with compositions credited to Hank Williams, Walter Bailes, and Frankie Bailes, and others; Acuff himself has just one co-writing credit. It differs from some of his other Hickory output -- Sings American Folk Songs, for instance -- in its use of robust backing vocals, though the core instrumentation remains no-frills traditional country (albeit with gentle honky tonk piano). It's not such a fine listen, however, mostly because so many of the songs share similar brisk, hand-clapping rhythms and melodies. That gets to be particularly troublesome when, say, "Build Me a Cabin in Gloryland" is immediately followed by "That Glory Bound Train," the quick repetition of promised glory excessive enough to make heathens out of potential converts. Less cheekily, the similarity between tracks does threaten to cross over to monotony, and casual listeners might sometimes catch themselves wondering if they've just heard the track playing only a minute or two ago. So it's not recommended to anyone but major Acuff fans, but if you are building a deep Acuff collection, you might want to get it on the 2004 Ace CD reissue that combines this and Sings American Folk Songs onto one disc. ~ Richie Unterberger

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 2 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Roy Acuff

Product Info

  • UPC: 030206687224
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)