Radio Tarifa Rumba Argelina

Rumba Argelina
27 ratings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  WCXH
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: July 1, 1997
  • Label: Nonesuch


  • 1.Rumba Argelina
  • 2.Oye China
  • 3.Lamma Bada
  • 4.Manana
  • 5.La Canal
  • 6.El Baile de la Bola
  • 7.Soledad
  • 8.La Mosca
  • 9.Tangos del Agujero
  • 10.Nu Alrest
  • 11.La Pastora
  • 12.Ronda de Sanabria
  • 13.Bulerias Turcas
  • 14.Nina

Product Description:

Radio Tarifa includes: Fain Sanchez Duenas (percussion).
Personnel: Fain S. Duenas (vocals, guitar, bouzouki, balafon, bongos, cowbells, djembe, pandeiro, tabla, triangle, percussion); Benjamin Escoriza (vocals, guitar, hand claps); Juan Alberto Arteche, Javier Ruib l (vocals); Gerardo Nu¤ez (guitar); Ramiro Amusategui (oud); Ali Reza Gholami (viola); Javier Paxari¤o (alto flute, wooden flute, bansuri, kaval, bass clarinet, soprano saxophone, tenor saxophone); Vincent Molino (bansuri, ney, crumhorn); Cuco P‚rez (accordion); Eduardo Laguillo (harmonium).
Audio Mixers: Fain S. Duenas; Juan Alberto Arteche.
Liner Note Author: Charlie Gillett.
Recording information: El Agujero, Madrid, Spain.
Unknown Contributor Roles: Vincent Molino; Juan Alberto Arteche.
The concept of this debut album from Spain's leading roots ensemble is that you are listening to a radio broadcast in Tarifa, Spain's southernmost point, so that you might hear a mixture of sounds from Spain and North Africa. And indeed fuzzy, distant radio sounds introduce one song and close the album. The album features an incredible variety of instruments, including among many others: guitar, tar (Persian lute), buzuki (Greek mandolin), derbouka (North African clay drum), ney (Arabic flute), crumhorn (a loud, buzzing Medieval wind instrument), and the Indian harmonium. The group is not shy about including modern popular instruments like soprano and tenor saxophone, electric organ, and electric bass. The album features almost as many styles as it does instruments, yet they tend to come together as one new style, rather than sounding like a musical salad. The album starts off with the title track, a smooth mix of rumba and flamenco. "Oye, China" is a love lament that plays the layered clip-clop rhythm of the plucked instruments off the more continuous sounds of the accordion and the breathy nsuri (Indian bamboo flute). "Lamma bada" is a straight reading of one of the most oft-played tunes of the Arab world, using Radio Tarifa's favored instruments, retaining the song's modal structure (i.e., all the instruments, even the bass, playing the same line at once). One song later in the album stands out from all the rest. It is an adaptation of a song by a Medieval troubadour named Walter von der Vogelweide originally called "Nu Alrest Lebe Ich Mir Werde," but which Radio Tarifa simply calls "Nu Alrest." Dominated by the crumhorns and the melancholy tenor of Javier Raibal, "Nu Alrest" carries a potent charge of fantasy and sadness, conjuring images of crossing the desert alone on camel. It is imagination like this that makes Rumba Argelina one of the most important world music albums of the 1990s. ~ Kurt Keefner

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.6
Based on 27 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Radio Tarifa

Product Info

  • UPC: 075597947229
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)