Gipsy Kings Mosaique

12 ratings
Price: $10.78
List Price: $11.98
You Save: $1.20 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  EERJ
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: November 21, 1989
  • Label: Nonesuch


  • 1.Caminando Por la Calle
  • 2.Viento del Arena
  • 3.El Camino
  • 4.Mosaique
  • 5.Serana
  • 6.Liberte
  • 7.Volare
  • 8.Trista Pena
  • 9.Nina Morena
  • 10.Passion
  • 11.Soy
  • 12.Vamos a Bailar - (live)

Product Description:

Gipsy Kings: Nicolas Reyes, Andre Reyes (vocals, guitar); Tonino Baliardo, Chico Bouchikhi, Diego Baliardo, Paco Baliardo (guitar).
Additional personnel: Philippe Desserpris (electric guitar); Guillermo Fellove (trumpet); Claude Maisonneuve (oboe); Dominique Droin (piano, synthesizer); Dominique Perrier (piano); Jean Musy (synthesizer); Gerard Prevost (bass); Negrito Trasante-Crocco (drums, percussion); Claude Salmieri (drums); Charles Benarroch (percussion).
Engineers: Daniel Michel, Francois Delabriere, Roland Guillotel.
Recorded at Studio EMI-Pathe Marconi, Paris, France in March, June, July and September 1989, except "Vamos A Bailar" recorded live in July 1989.
On MOSAIQUE, the Gipsy Kings stretch their unique, pop-inflected take on native Spanish music into newly supple, more meditative configurations. As on their earlier albums, they draw heavily from gipsy and flamenco traditions in both content and style. However, influences from other regions are in greater evidence here, as spectacular vocalists Nicolas and Andre Reyes employ characteristics of the singing style indigenous to the religious music of North Africa and the Middle East. The surging pulse of tracks such as "Viento Del Arena" and "Trista Pena" are imbued with an almost otherworldly, trance-like feel, without sacrificing the group's keen melodic sense or accessibility.
Elsewhere, the Kings continue to mix it up. The sophisticated, jazzy air of cuts like "Liberte" and the title track alternate with the exuberant playing and insistent hooks of "Nina Morena," and the smash hit "Volare." As always, the caliber of the musicianship is remarkable. With MOSAIQUE, the band's continually evolving formal sensibility creates a music that is fresh, romantic, and eminently listenable.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.6
Based on 12 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Gipsy Kings

Product Info

  • UPC: 075596089227
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)