Bill Frisell East / West (Live) (2-CD)

East / West (Live) (2-CD)
25 ratings
Only 9 copies left
Price: $15.49
List Price: $16.98
You Save: $1.49 (9% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  HVC8
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2005
  • Label: Nonesuch

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.I Heard It Through the Grapevine
  • 2.Blues for Los Angeles
  • 3.Shenandoah
  • 4.Boubacar
  • 5.Pipe Down
  • 6.A Hard Rain's A-Gonna Fall

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.My Man's Gone Now
  • 2.The Days of Wine and Roses
  • 3.You Can Run
  • 4.Ron Carter
  • 5.Interlude
  • 6.Goodnight Irene
  • 7.The Vanguard
  • 8.People
  • 9.Crazy
  • 10.Tennessee Flat Top Box

Product Description:

Personnel: Bill Frisell (guitar, acoustic guitar, electric guitar); Bill Frisell (loops); Tony Scherr (acoustic guitar, bass instrument); Viktor Krauss (bass instrument); Kenny Wollesen (drums, percussion).
Audio Mixer: Tucker Martine.
Recording information: The Village Vanguard, New York, NY (12/09/2003-05/11/2004); Village Vanguard, New York, NY (12/09/2003-05/11/2004); Yoshi's, Oakland, CA (12/09/2003-05/11/2004).
Editors: Lee Townsend ; Jon Evans .
Photographers: Monica Frisell; Ralph Gibson.
Though Bill Frisell's standing was never in doubt, this two-disc live set further confirms the guitarist's position as one of the most talented, flexible, and innovative musicians of his generation. Frisell has worked with almost every ensemble configuration imaginable, so it's something of a treat to hear him perform in a trio here; the setting truly shows off his improvisatory breadth and sensitivity to interplay.
The two discs--recorded at gigs on the East and West coasts, respectively--feature drummer Kenny Wollensen, and bassists Viktor Krauss and Tony Scherr (Krauss plays on one disc, Scherr on the other). This fine company aids Frisell on a genre-hopping journey that includes extended treatments of traditional material ("Goodnight Irene"), folk ("A Hard Rain's A-Gonna Fall"), country ("Tennessee Flat Top Box"), and R&B ("I Heard It Through the Grapevine"). The sensibility here is extremely progressive, and the playing is top-notch, resulting in a superb set of first-rate contemporary jazz.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 25 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Get Email Alerts for Bill Frisell

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 123,415
  • UPC: 075597986327
  • Shipping Weight: 0.26/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)