Spike Jones The Jones Laughing Record [Avid]

The Jones Laughing Record [Avid]
1 rating
Price: $13.48
List Price: $14.98
You Save: $1.50 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  EEJS
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: April 1, 1998
  • Originally Released: 1998
  • Label: Avid Records UK


  • 1.Hawaiian War Chant
  • 2.My Old Flame
  • 3.Chloe
  • 4.Der Fuehrer's Face
  • 5.Little Bo - Peep Has Lost Her Jeep
  • 6.The Jones Laughing Record (Introducing The Flight of The Bumble Bee)
  • 7.Laura
  • 8.Drip, Drip, Drip (Sloppy Lagoon)
  • 9.The Glow - Worm
  • 10.Red Wing
  • 11.I'm Getting Sentimental Over You
  • 12.and The Great Big Saw Came Nearer and Nearer
  • 13.Liebestraume
  • 14.Leave The Dishes In The Sink, Ma
  • 15.Our Hour (The Puppy Love Song)
  • 16.By The Beautiful Sea
  • 17.(I'm Forever) Blowing Bubble Gum
  • 18.Love In Bloom
  • 19.Behind Those Swinging Doors
  • 20.None But The Lonely Heart (A Soaperetta)
  • 21.The Covered Wagon Rolled Right Along
  • 22.Cocktails For Two
  • 23.My Pretty Girl
  • 24.Hotcha Cornia (Hotcha Chornya) (Russian Folk Songs)
  • 25.Popcorn Sack

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Spike Jones & His City Slickers; Doodles Weaver, Sir Frederick Gas, Dr. Horatio Q. Birdbath (vocals).
Recorded between 1946 and 1949.
Personnel: Dr. Horatio Q. Birdbath (vocals, whistling); George Rock, Dick Morgan, Boys in the Backroom, Paul Judson, Barefooted Pennsylvanians, Jimmy Cassidy, Aileen Carlisle, Sir Frederick Gas, Tailwaggers, Del Porter, King Jackson, Paul Frees, Red Ingle, Carl Grayson (vocals); Dick Gardner (violin); Tommy Pederson (trombone).
Audio Remasterer: Dave Bennett .
Liner Note Author: Pat Hawes.
Recording information: Chicago, IL (08/08/1941-12/30/1947); Los Angeles, CA (08/08/1941-12/30/1947).
Ensemble: City Slickers (Spike Jones).
Unknown Contributor Roles: George Rock; Willie Spicer; Frank Leithner; Red Ingle.
Arrangers: Del Porter; Spike Jones.
Compiling music from the immediate postwar years of the late '40s, The Jones Laughing Record skips "Der Fuehrer's Face," the biggest '40s hit from Spike Jones & His City Slickers, but does include several of the orchestra's best song parodies of the era. Beginning with the "William Tell Overture," Jones and his talented orchestra indulge in hilarious send-ups of crossover hits -- "The Glow Worm," "Laura," "Love in Bloom," "Ghost Riders in the Sky," and the decidedly unsentimental "I'm Getting Sentimental over You." Ending the collection is the band's most lasting hit: the Christmas perennial "(All I Want for Christmas Is) My Two Front Teeth." ~ John Bush

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Spike Jones

Product Info

  • UPC: 5022810163022
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)