The Cumberland Three Songs of the Civil War

Songs of the Civil War
16 ratings
Price: $9.88
List Price: $11.98
You Save: $2.10 (18% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  34JYV
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: January 15, 1991
  • Label: Rhino


  • 1.Hallowed Ground
  • 2.I Don't Want No Pardon
  • 3.Lay Ten Dollars Down
  • 4.Number 292
  • 5.Aura Lee
  • 6.The Yellow Rose of Texas
  • 7.Goober Peas
  • 8.Picket's Lament
  • 9.Hold Our Glasses Steady
  • 10.Bessie
  • 11.The Coward
  • 12.We'll All Take a Ride
  • 13.Down to Washington
  • 14.Marching Home
  • 15.Story of the Lamb
  • 16.Tobacco Box
  • 17.Gonna Get You
  • 18.Bring the Good Old Bugle
  • 19.Song of the Hungry
  • 20.Shipmates Come Gather
  • 21.The Boys Are Home
  • 22.Back to Home
  • 23.Battle Hymn of the Republic

Product Description:

The Cumberland Three's second and third albums combined on one CD, and reissued in the wake of Ken Burns' Civil War series. Songs of the Civil War are spirited performances, based on arrangements by Oscar Brand or the group members, with only one original ("Bessie") by John Stewart, that fits in perfectly with the period material. The original order of release put the North's volume first, but the CD puts the South's songs first among the 23 tracks. The material holds up remarkably -- some of the more familiar songs include "The Yellow Rose of Texas," "Hold Our Glasses Steady," "Story of the Lamb" (aka "Rally Round the Flag Boys"), "Bring the Good Old Bugle" (aka "Marching Through Georgia"), "Back to Home," and "Battle Hymn of the Republic." The singing and playing are of a very high caliber, with "Gonna Get You" being perhaps the best sung song here, followed closely by "Shipmates Come Gather," stunningly moving performances of "The Boys Are Home" (aka "When Johnny Comes Marching Home"), and "Battle Hymn of the Republic." And "Bring the Good Old Bugle" offers Stewart's best banjo work. ~ Bruce Eder

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 16 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for The Cumberland Three

Product Info

  • UPC: 081227073923
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)