Tom Paxton Ain't That News!

Ain't That News!
SALE: $1.98
List Price: $12.97
You Save: $10.99 (85% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  COL 6969
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: April 29, 2008
  • Originally Released: 2008
  • Label: Collectables Records
  • Original Album: Elektra EKS-7298 (1965)

Description by

Tom Paxton has been performing great folk music for over 40 years. This CD is his classic recording from 1965 and includes the favorites "Bottle Of Wine" and "Every Time."


  • 1.Ain't That News
  • 2.The Willing Conscript
  • 3.Lyndon Johnson Told The Nation
  • 4.Hold On To Me Babe
  • 5.The Name Of The Game Is Stud
  • 6.Bottle Of Wine
  • 7.The Natural Girl For Me
  • 8.Goodman, Schwerner And Chaney
  • 9.We Didn't Know
  • 10.Buy A Gun For Your Son
  • 11. Every Time
  • 12.Georgie On The Freeways
  • 13.Sully's Pail
  • 14.I'm The Man That Built The Bridges

Product Description:

Personnel: Tom Paxton (vocals, guitar); Barry Kornfeld (guitar, banjo).
Recording information: Mastertone Studios, New York, NY.
Chicago folk singer-songwriter Tom Paxton's second record, AIN'T THAT NEWS, was unleashed in 1965 as the people of the United States were waking up to the notion that Vietnam was more than a routine occupation. The record opens with a mission, rousting the protesting troops on the spry title track, before an eloquent trilogy lamenting the rising human cost overseas. "The Willing Conscript" balances the coy and the sincere in an innocent's address to his sergeant on war's absurdity, while the naked "Lyndon Johnson Told the Nation" cuts at the president with lines like "to help save Vietnam from the Vietnamese," before "Hold on to Me Babe" whispers the love cry of a soldier back from war. Beyond the stirring cries for change, AIN'T THAT NEWS finds the artist maturing into the master of the haunting, elegiac ballad with the enduring classic (and perhaps Paxton's signature song), "Bottle of Wine," that hopeless alcoholic's lament.
Collectables Records
$2.98 Clearance CDs
$2.98 Oldies CD Sale

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Tom Paxton

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 378
  • UPC: 090431696927
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Clearance CDs:

Collectables Price Reductions:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)