Roy Buchanan A Street Called Straight

A Street Called Straight
5 ratings
Price: $16.18
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  GD8F
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: April 30, 2002
  • Label: Wounded Bird Records


  • 1.Running Out
  • 2.Keep What You Got
  • 3.Man on the Floor
  • 4.Good God Have Mercy
  • 5.Okay
  • 6.Caruso
  • 7.My Friend Jeff
  • 8.If Six Was Nine
  • 9.Guitar Cadenza
  • 10.The Messiah Will Come Again
  • 11.I Still Think About Ida Mae

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Roy Buchanan (vocals, guitar); John Harrison (vocals, bass); Byrd Foster (vocals, drums); Buddy Lucas (harmonica); Malcolm Lukens (keyboards); WillLee (bass); Andy Newmark (drums); Billy Cobham (timbales, tom toms).
Personnel: Roy Buchanan (vocals, guitar); Byrd Foster (vocals, drums, background vocals); Eddie Brigati, John Harrison, Robin Clark (vocals, background vocals); G. Diane Sumler, Luther Vandross (vocals); Buddy Lucas (harmonica); George Opalisky, Lew Del Gatto, Michael Brecker, Randy Brecker, Barry Rogers (horns); Malcolm Lukens (keyboards); Kenneth Bichel (synthesizer); Gonzalo Sifre (drums, percussion); Andy Newmark (drums); Billy Cobham (timbales, tom tom, percussion); Rubens Bassini (percussion); Diane Sumler, David Brigati, Luther VanRoss (background vocals).
After an uneven four-year/five-LP deal with Polydor, Roy Buchanan (guitar/vocals) linked up with Atlantic Records for his next trio of long-players, commencing with A Street Called Straight (1976). Under the direction of Arif Mardin, and sporting the same combo that he had been using during his practically incessant touring, this disc is infinitely stronger than his previous non-live effort, In the Beginning (1974). The core unit of John Harrison (bass), Malcolm Lukens (keyboards), and Byrd Foster (drums/vocals), are augmented by a host of all-stars such as Andy Newmark (drums), Will Lee (bass), Billy Cobham (percussion), the Brecker Brothers horn section, and vocals from former Rascals' member Eddie Brigati. Perhaps Mardin's mid-'70s success, creating soul and funk-oriented platters, encouraged him to take the artist in a similar course. Buchanan definitely sounds not only in his element throughout this title , but he rises to the occasion, providing some of his most incendiary licks and aggressive instrumental interaction in a studio setting. This also manifests itself with a bounty of self-penned compositions. Rather than including one or two of his own pieces in an album consisting of primarily cover material, nine of the 11 cuts are, at the very least, co-written by Buchanan. As always however, it is his unmistakable, if not singular fretwork that truly coalesces A Street Called Straight. The frenetic opening whine of "Running Out" immediately sets the tone as Buchanan's guitar sings with a woozy fluid intonation, perfect for his expressive and emotive leads. The middle-eight solo is a prime example of his uncanny ability to switch from sharp, jagged, and sinister, to a string-stretching, bluesy intonation. This contrasts the backbeat-laden "Keep What You Got" funkfest, and the noir combination of acoustic and electric textures on Billy Roberts "Good God Have Mercy." The reading of Jimi Hendrix' "If Six Was Nine" is an almost natural extension of the original, with a brooding and slinky rhythm. While some purists may consider the overproduction slick, Mardin's creation is an undeniable improvement over his prior non-live outings. ~ Lindsay Planer

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 5 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Roy Buchanan

Product Info

  • UPC: 664140817029
  • Shipping Weight: 0.20/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)