Dr. Octagon The Instrumentalyst (Octagon Beats)

The Instrumentalyst (Octagon Beats)
18 ratings
Price: $8.98
List Price: $9.98
You Save: $1 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  GD6X
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: April 29, 1997
  • Label: Dreamworks

Entertainment Reviews:

Entertainment Weekly - 6/6/97, pp.68-69
"...instrumental hip-hop that's beautiful, creepy, and compelling, sometimes all at once..." - Rating: A-
Muzik - 1/97, p.118
3 out of 5 - "...the classic 'Dr. Octagon' with vocals and scratches removed....there's more time and space to concentrate on just how good Automators production is..."


  • 1.3000
  • 2.Moosebumps
  • 3.Earth People
  • 4.Real Raw
  • 5.No Awareness
  • 6.Blue Flowers
  • 7.Technical Difficulties
  • 8.A Visit to the Gynecologyst
  • 9.Bear Witness - (extended version)
  • 10.Dr. Octagon
  • 11.Girl Let Me Touch You
  • 12.I'm Destructive
  • 13.Tricknology 101
  • 14.Wild and Crazy
  • 15.Blue Flowers Revisited
  • 16.Waiting List
  • 17.On Production

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Andy Boy (guitar); Phil Bright (guitar, bass); Ramon Garcia (flute, saxophone, congas); D. Nakamura (synthesizer); Keith Thornton (bass); Miss G, Sweet "P" (background vocals); Josh Davis & The Monster Orchestra.
Recorded at The Glue Factory, San Francisco, California.
Personnel: Sweet-P (vocals); Andy Boy (guitar); Ramon Garcia (flute, saxophone, congas); Dan the Automator (synthesizer); DJ Q-Bert (scratches).
Audio Mixer: Dan the Automator.
Photographer: B+.
This is essentially the entire Dr. Octagonecologyst album sans vocals and slightly remixed. If any other artist released an album such as this it would be considered throwaway trash -- something for the hardcore fans. But Dan the Automator's backing tracks are so fresh and original, it's actually nice to just hear the beats minus the rhymes. ~ Kembrew McLeod

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 18 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Product Info

  • UPC: 600445002227
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)