The Heath Brothers Expression of Life / In Motion

Expression of Life / In Motion
3 ratings
SALE: $10.98
List Price: $14.97
You Save: $3.99 (27% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  COL 6896
Brand New

Related products:

2 Original LPs on 1 CD

CD Details

  • Released: March 14, 2006
  • Originally Released: 2001
  • Label: Collectables Records
  • Original Album #1: Columbia FC-37126 (1981)
  • Original Album #2: Columbia JC-35816 (1979)

Description by

In 1975, bassist Percy Heath left his position with the Modern Jazz Quartet to form The Heath Brothers with Jimmy and Tootie Heath. These two original hard bop albums from the vaults of Columbia also feature Stanley Cowell on piano and Tony Purrone on guitar, as well as famed R&B singer, writer, and producer Mtume (Jimmy Heath's son) as background vocalist. Among the jazz-funk highlights are "Feelin' Dealin'," "Dreamin," and "Use It (Don't Abuse It)."


  • 1.Dreamin'
  • 2.Tender Touch
  • 3.Ruby, My Dear
  • 4.Then What
  • 5.Use It (Don't Abuse It)
  • 6.No More Weary Blues
  • 7.Equipoise
  • 8.Confirmation
  • 9.Feelin' Dealin'
  • 10.The Voice Of The Saxophone
  • 11.Project "S"
  • 12.Move To The Groove
  • 13.Passion Flower
  • 14.A Time And A Place (There's)

Product Description:

2 LPs on 1 CD: EXPRESSIONS OF LIFE (1981)/IN MOTION (1979).
The Heath Brothers: Jimmy Heath (tenor saxophone); Percy Heath (bass); Albert "Tootie" Heath (drums).
Additional personnel includes: Stanley Cowell (piano); Tony Purrone (guitar).
Originally released on Columbia.
Liner Note Author: Mort Fega.
This two-fer from Collectables features a pair of out of print Heath Brothers LPs: Expressions of Life and In Motion, originally issued on Columbia Records in 1981 and 1979, respectively. These 14 tracks feature a combination of mainstream jazz and bop on several original compositions and cover versions of Thelonious Monk's "Ruby, My Dear," Charlie Parker's "Confirmation," and Billy Strayhorn's "Passion Flower." ~ Al Campbell
Collectables Records

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 3 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Product Series:
Get Email Alerts for The Heath Brothers

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 15,149
  • UPC: 090431689622
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Jazz General Music Categories:

Collectables Records - Audio CDs:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)