Paul Kelly Ways & Means [Bonus CD] (Limited) (2-CD)

Ways & Means [Bonus CD] (Limited) (2-CD)
5 ratings
Price: $15.28
List Price: $16.98
You Save: $1.70 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  WDW6
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: February 24, 2004
  • Label: Cooking Vinyl

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - 4/1/04, p.90
3 stars out of 5 - "Kelly's conversational tone convey equal parts angst, joy and passion; hopefully, MEANS will bring him some more recognition on these shores."
Q - 4/04, p.114
3 stars out of 5 - "[U]nputdownable as Kelly gazes into the minutiae of how love rules our lives."
Uncut - 4/04, p.93
4 stars out of 5 - "Disco one rattles and blows like Highway 61 ghost-ridden by Hank Williams...sort of TIME OUT OF MIND left out in the rain by Warren Zevon."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Gunnamatta
  • 2.The Oldest Story in the Book
  • 3.Heavy Thing
  • 4.Won't You Come Around?
  • 5.These Are the Days
  • 6.Beautiful Feeling
  • 7.Crying Shame
  • 8.Sure Got Me
  • 9.To Be Good Takes a Long Time
  • 10.Can't Help You Now
  • 11.Nothing But a Dream

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Little Bit O'Sugar
  • 2.Forty Eight Angels
  • 3.Your Lovin' Is on My Mind
  • 4.You Broke a Beautiful Thing
  • 5.My Way Is to You
  • 6.Curly Red
  • 7.King of Fools
  • 8.Young Lovers
  • 9.Big Fine Girl
  • 10.Let's Fall Again

Product Description:

Personnel: Paul Kelly (vocals, acoustic guitar); Dan Luscombe (electric guitar, slide guitar, keyboards); Dan Kelly (electric guitar, banjo, fiddle, background vocals); Graham Lee (pedal steel guitar); Bruce Haymes (piano); Bill McDonald (synthesizer, bass); Peter Luscombe (drums, percussion).
Recorded at Sing Sing Studios, Melbourne, Australia.
Don't be mislead by the Ennio Morricone spaghetti Western soundtrack-styled instrumental that starts Aussie singer/songwriter Paul Kelly's 13th disc. His first release since 2001's Nothing but a Dream is a 21-track double set that is otherwise similar to his previous albums and finds Kelly working to his compositional strengths. That's not to slight his canny ability to portray distinctive characters within the context of a four-minute pop song, or how he mines his seemingly bottomless well of melodies. But those who are already fans will find this a familiar yet enjoyable collection of quality songs, sung with Kelly's slightly nasal everyman voice and played with clean, precise, and rugged professionalism by his sturdy band. Disc one boasts the more direct, upbeat tunes, while the second is moody and more sedate. As usual with double albums, these could have been combined into a phenomenal single, but the differing sounds make a strong case for the expanded package. In fact, disc two's laconic approach is best digested whole, with the melodies intertwining to produce an affecting portrait of Kelly's mellower side. The first platter's rockers such as the Tom Petty-ish "Won't You Come Around" sport some of his most memorable choruses. "Cryin' Shame" is an unusually dirty, swampy riff-based blues rocker that sounds like it was recorded in Mississippi with the Fat Possum crew. But "These Are the Days" is classic Kelly, a ringing mid-tempo ballad with touching, detailed lyrics about approaching middle age and looking for commitment, sung with a perfect balance of pathos and detachment. Other than a few twists, he's not radically expanding his net. But with songs as well-written, superbly played, and inviting as these, Kelly shows no signs of slowing down either. Fans will be thrilled with this expansive album, but even newcomers could start here and work backward through Kelly's extensive and consistently impressive catalog. ~ Hal Horowitz

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 5 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Paul Kelly

Product Info

  • UPC: 711297013924
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)