Monica Mancini Cinema Paradiso

Cinema Paradiso
18 ratings
Price: $10.78
List Price: $11.98
You Save: $1.20 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  WDKJ
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Fantasy Warehouse Clearance Sale product may be specifically marked for one-way sale
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2002
  • Label: Concord Records


  • Buy for $1.291.Cinema Paradiso - (from "Cinema Paradiso")
  • Buy for $1.292.Day in the Life of a Fool, A - (from "Black Orpheus")
  • Buy for $1.293.Summer Knows, The - (from "The Summer Of '42")
  • Buy for $1.294.Love Before Time, A - (from "Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon")
  • Buy for $0.995.Soldier in the Rain - (from "Soldier In The Rain")
  • Buy for $0.996.Alfie - (from "Alfie")
  • Buy for $0.997.Too Late Now - (from "Royal Wedding")
  • Buy for $1.298.Shadow of Your Smile, The - (from "The Sandpiper")
  • Buy for $1.2910.Senza Fine - (from "Ghost Ship")
  • Buy for $1.2911.I'll Never Say Goodbye - (from "The Promise")
  • Buy for $0.9912.Over the Rainbow - (from "The Wizard Of Oz")

Product Description:

Personnel: Monica Mancini (vocals); Ramon Stagnaro, George Doering (guitar); Assa Drori, Ray Kobler, David Stenske, Ron Folsom, Belinda Broughton, Hana Krejkova, Irina Voloshina, Jim Stark, Jennifer Walton, Carolyn Osborn, Karen Jones, Jennifer Walton, Joel Derouin, Laine Mautner (violin); Rolando Kato, Kazi Pitelka, Harry Shirinin, Andrew Picken (viola); Armen Ksajikian, Tim Landauer, John Krovoza (cello); Julie Allis-Berghofer (harp); Barbara Northcutt, Earl Dumler, Aaron Hill (woodwind); Mike Lang (piano); Tom Ranier (keyboards); Chuck Berghofer, Mike Valerio (bass); Gregg Field (drums, percussion).
Includes liner notes by Dave Grusin.
Personnel: Monica Mancini (vocals); Ram¢n Stagnaro, George Doering (guitar); Julie Berghofer (harp); Assa Drori, Carolyn Osborn, Jennifer Walton, Irina Voloshina, Ronald Folsom, Karen Jones , Jim St„rk, Joel Derouin, David Stenske, Liane Mautner (violin); Kazi Pitelka, Andrew Picken, Roland Kato, Harry Shirinian (viola); Timothy Landauer, Armen Ksadjikian, John Krovoza (cello); Aaron Hill, Earl Dumler, Barbara Northcutt (woodwinds); Michael Lang (piano); Tom Ranier (keyboards); Gregg Field (drums, percussion).
Audio Mixers: Don Murray ; Gregg Field; Seth Presant.
Liner Note Author: Dave Grusin.
Recording information: Capitol Studios, Hollywood, CA (07/31/2002-08/26/2002); G Studio Digital (07/31/2002-08/26/2002).
Photographer: Randee Saint Nicholas.
Arranger: Michael Lang .
Monica Mancini has been careful in her recording projects to reflect her heritage and promote it without exploiting it. Her first album, Monica Mancini, was, naturally enough, a collection of songs written by her father, Henry Mancini. Her second, The Dreams of Johnny Mercer, was a tribute to one of her father's main collaborators. Cinema Paradiso features songs by many different songwriters, but its source is the kind of movie theme music in which her father worked successfully for his entire career. Mancini deliberately mixes things up in her choices of material, going back in time as far as the late '30s for "Over the Rainbow" and as far forward as "Senza Fine" from Ghost Ship, a film that opened 11 days before her album was released. And she mixes well-known songs like "Alfie" and "The Shadow of Your Smile" with worthy but lesser-known efforts such as Burton Lane and Alan Jay Lerner's "Too Late Now" from Royal Wedding and her father's "Soldier in the Rain" from the movie of the same name with lyrics by Alan and Marilyn Bergman. She has also considered the arrangements carefully, using eight different arrangers to create settings for the songs. Some of the charts are lush, while three songs employ a single instrument as accompaniment. Yet they all work together well. And the material and arrangements prove to be good choices for Mancini's voice, which is fully showcased. It is a rich voice, and if her interpretations have their precious moments and are at times too deliberate, she also exudes warmth and feeling for the songs, making this another successful collection. ~ William Ruhlmann

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 18 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Monica Mancini

Product Info

  • UPC: 013431498827
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)