Louis Jordan V-Disc Recordings

V-Disc Recordings
1 rating
Price: $15.28
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  AD37
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1998
  • Label: Collector's Choice


  • 1.Hey! Now Let's Live
  • 2.You Can't Get That No More
  • 3.The End of My Worry
  • 4.I've Found a New Baby
  • 5.Deacon Jones
  • 6.I Like 'Em Fat Like That
  • 7.Bahama Joe
  • 8.Nobody But Me
  • 9.Outskirts of Town
  • 10.How High Am I?
  • 11.Is You Is or Is You Ain't My Baby?
  • 12.Knock Me a Kiss
  • 13.Five Guys Named Moe
  • 14.Jumpin' at the Jubilee

Product Description:

Personnel: Louis Jordan (vocals, alto saxophone, tenor saxophone); Carl Hogan (guitar); Josh Jackson (tenor saxophone); Aaron Izenhall, Eddie Roane (trumpet); Arnold Thomas, Wild Bill Davis (piano); Eddie Byrd, Shadow Wilson (drums).
Audio Remasterers: George Ingram; John Eberle.
Recording information: 09/??/1943-07/12/1945.
Arranger: Wild Bill Davis.
Jump blues master Louis Jordan was terrifically popular during the war years--his sassy "G.I. Jive" was a huge hit at the time--and like many of the other popular entertainers of the era, particularly swing musicians, Jordan performed at USO shows and others contributed to the war effort. One of the most popular ways for musicians to show their support for our boys overseas was to record V-Discs, special live transcriptions that were broadcast overseas over Armed Forces Radio and played in USO canteens. Jordan recorded fourteen tracks for V-Discs between 1942 and 1944, and all of them are collected on this disc. Jordan was a consummate showman who gave his all for every performance, but these sessions sound worlds better than the majority of live recordings from the '40s because they were professionally done. The sound is a little tinny in spots, but the historical import of these recordings is as undeniable as their musical worth.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Louis Jordan

Product Info

  • UPC: 617742666120
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)