Big Jay McNeely 1953-1955

10% OFF
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown

Save for Later
Format: CD
Item:  CLRB 5170
on most orders of $75
Brand New
Sorry, this product isn't currently available.
Enter your email address, we'll let you know when it's back in stock:

CD Details

  • Released: February 16, 2006
  • Label: Classics R&B


  • 1.3-D
  • 2.Nervous Man Nervous
  • 3.Rock Candy
  • 4.Texas Turkey
  • 5.She Don't Work
  • 6.Hot Cinders
  • 7.Mule Milk
  • 8.Ice Water
  • 9.Whipped Cream
  • 10.Beachcomber
  • 11.Let's Work
  • 12.Strip Tease Swing
  • 13.Hardtack
  • 14.Hometown Jamboree
  • 15.Teen Age Hop
  • 16.Catastrophe
  • 17.Calamity
  • 18.Jay's Rock
  • 19.Big Jay's Hop
  • 20.Three Blind Mice

Product Description:

Personnel: Big Jay McNeely (vocals, tenor saxophone); Bob McNeely (vocals, baritone saxophone); Leonard "Tight" Hardiman (vocals, drums); Cecil "Butterball" Harris (vocals); John Anderson (trumpet); Earl DeWitt (piano, organ).
Liner Note Author: Dave Penny.
Recording information: Chicago, IL (06/23/1953-03/15/1955); Cincinnati, OH (06/23/1953-03/15/1955); Los Angeles, CA (06/23/1953-03/15/1955).
Though Big Jay McNeely is one of the lesser-known 1950s R&B saxophonists, his outsized, crowd-pleasing style, which incorporated long, swooping notes and blustering honks set against a raw, swinging backbeat, is still immensely appealing. The second volume of the French Classics R&B label's McNeely retrospective includes cuts like "Nervous Man Nervous," for which a pre-"Smoke Gets in Your Eyes" Platters supplied background vocals, as well as several previously released sides with overdubbed crowd noise added to simulate a live performance.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Big Jay McNeely

Product Info:

  • UPC: 3448967517020
  • Shipping Weight: 0.20/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item