Big Jay McNeely 1948-1950

Price: $19.78
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  37WRV
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Label: Classics R&B


  • 1.Wild Wig
  • 2.Sunday Dinner
  • 3.Deacon's Groove (Cool Blood)
  • 4.Man Eater
  • 5.California Hop
  • 6.Cherry Smash
  • 7.Deacon's Hop
  • 8.Artie's Jump
  • 9.Midnight Dreams
  • 10.Blow Big Jay
  • 11.Boogie in Front
  • 12.Willie the Cool Cat
  • 13.Gingercake
  • 14.K & H Boogie
  • 15.Roadhouse Boogie
  • 16.Hoppin' With Hunter
  • 17.Tondelayo
  • 18.Junie-Flip
  • 19.Jay's Frantic
  • 20.Let's Split
  • 21.Real Crazy Cool
  • 22.Deacon's Blowout

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Big Jay McNeely (tenor saxophone); Clifford Blevens (vocals); Bob McNeely (baritone saxophone); Britt Woodman, Streamline (trombone); Jimmy O'Brien (piano); Candy Stanzel (guitar); Tight Hardiman (drums).
This is part of Classics' Blues & Rhythm series.
Liner Note Author: Dave Penny.
Recording information: 11/29/1948/12/01/1948.
It is somehow fitting that a musician responsible for such gutsy, uncompromising music was born and raised in the Watts district of Los Angeles, CA. "Deacon" Big Jay McNeely helped establish rock & roll by hammering out a stream of jump records that were perfect for dancing and carousing purposes. Most of these tunes are grandstand blowouts, tempered with occasional slow and substantial essays in blue like "Deacon's Groove (Cool Blood)." Between the rips and roars it's interesting to examine the personnel involved in all of these dynamite recordings. John Anderson seems to have been McNeely's primary trumpeter, while the trombones were handled by either Earl Hines alumnus John "Streamline" Ewing or the mighty Britt Woodman, a musician greatly admired by Charles Mingus. The combination of Woodman's trombone and Jay's brother Bob McNeely's baritone sax is powerful, creating a vertigo effect during "The Deacon's Hop." Beginning with the Exclusive Records session of February 1949, Leonard "Tight" Hardiman was established as the drummer, with Charles McNiles socking the bongos on "Blow Big Jay" and the relatively laid-back "Tondelayo." Jimmy O'Brien plays exceptionally fine piano behind Clifford Blivens' blues shouting on "Midnight Dreams" and "Junie Flip." He is featured on "K & H Boogie" and adds spice to the mix throughout this exciting collection. Bassist Ted Shirley sings gruffly on "Roadhouse Boogie." McNeely's debut session for Aladdin Records provided him with greater exposure and apparently inspired him to blow hotter than ever, while his brother roared almost demonically behind him on the baritone. "Let's Split" sounds almost identical to the 1950 Johnny Otis hit "Turkey Hop." Its apparent sequel, "Real Crazy Cool," seems downright demented! Generally speaking, this is good time music that won't quit. ~ arwulf arwulf

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Big Jay McNeely

Product Info

  • UPC: 3307510500929
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)