Ivory Joe Hunter 1947-1950

Rating 5.0
1 rating
Your Price: $19.78
Temporarily Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Save for Later
Format: CD
Item:  RV2Y
on most orders of $50
Brand New
Sorry, this product isn't currently available.
Enter your email address, we'll let you know when it's back in stock:

CD Details

  • Released: February 24, 2003
  • Label: Classics R&B


  • 1.Stop Rockin' That Train
  • 2.Siesta With Sonny
  • 3.Waiting in Vain
  • 4.It's You Just You
  • 5.That's the Gal For Me
  • 6.Changing Blues
  • 7.Guess Who
  • 8.Too Late
  • 9.Please Don't Cry Anymore
  • 10.I Got Your Water On
  • 11.I Quit My Pretty Mama
  • 12.Lying Woman Blues
  • 13.I Have No Reason to Complain
  • 14.Jealous Heart
  • 15.If I Give You My Love
  • 16.I Almost Lost My Mind
  • 17.I Need You So
  • 18.S.P. Blues
  • 19.Let Me Dream
  • 20.Leave Her Alone
  • 21.Why Fool Yourself
  • 22.Gimme a Pound O' Ground Round
  • 23.I Can't Get You Off My Mind
  • 24.I Found My Baby

Product Description:

Personnel: Ivory Joe Hunter (vocals, piano); Ray Nance (violin); Russell Procope (clarinet, alto saxophone, tenor saxophone); Pete Clarke, Joe Evans & Arthur McClain, Johnny Hodges (alto saxophone); Harry Porter, Elmer Williams, Budd Johnson (tenor saxophone); Ernie Caceres, Alan Townsend (baritone saxophone); Reunald Jones, Harold Baker, Ludwig Jordan, Taft Jordan (trumpet); Tyree Glenn (trombone, vibraphone); Leo Williams, Jr. (trombone); Lee Abrams, Chuck Walker, Kelly Martin, Sonny Greer (drums).
Liner Note Author: Dave Penny.
Recording information: Cincinnati, OH (12/05/1947-05/09/1950); Los Angeles, CA (12/05/1947-05/09/1950); New York, NY (12/05/1947-05/09/1950).
Ivory Joe Hunter was known as "the Baron of Boogie" for his regal appearance and sprightly piano style, and throughout a career that lasted five decades he incorporated blues, gospel, country and a proto-rock & roll style into his smooth brand of R&B. A skilled songwriter, and possessing an emotive, velvet voice that prefigured such crooners as Nat King Cole, Hunter was instrumental in bringing R&B to an uptown audience in the late 1940s. This collection gathers 14 of the 16 sides he cut for King Records between 1947 and 1949, along with ten tracks he recorded for MGM Records shortly before leaving for the Atlantic label, where he enjoyed his greatest success with "Since I Met You Baby" in 1954. Highlights here include two of the King tracks, "Waiting in Vain" and "Guess Who," both of which feature runaway violin lines from Ray Nance, and the beautiful blues ballad "I Almost Lost My Mind," a middling hit in 1950 on MGM. Casual listeners should probably pick up one of the more historically comprehensive greatest-hits packages, but the already converted will be happy to have these early classics by one of the sweetest voices in R&B history. ~ Steve Leggett

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Ivory Joe Hunter

Product Info:

  • UPC: 3307510504927
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item