Ivory Joe Hunter 1947

Price: $19.78
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  323S6
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: March 11, 2002
  • Label: Classics R&B


  • 1.Big Wig
  • 2.Jumping at the Dew Drop
  • 3.She's a Killer
  • 4.Boogin' in the Rain
  • 5.Did You Mean It?
  • 6.I Shouldn't Love You
  • 7.Foolish Pride
  • 8.San Francisco Blues
  • 9.I Was Only Playing
  • 10.Don't Be No Fool-Fool
  • 11.Come on Let Your Hair Down
  • 12.All States Boogie
  • 13.Code Song
  • 14.In Time
  • 15.She's Gone Blues
  • 16.No Money No Luck Blues
  • 17.Woo Wee Blues
  • 18.Landlord Blues
  • 19.Old Gal New Gal Blues
  • 20.Don't Know
  • 21.I Like It
  • 22.False Friend Blues
  • 23.Don't Fall in Love With Me
  • 24.Send Me Pretty Mama
  • 25.What Did You Do to Me

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Ivory Joe Hunter (vocals, piano); Pee Wee Crayton, Owen Bradley (guitar); Russell Procope (alto saxophone, clarinet); Ben Webster (tenor saxophone); Harold Baker (trumpet); Oscar Pettiford (bass); Sonny Greer (drums).
Recorded in 1947. Includes liner notes by Dave Penny.
Personnel: Ivory Joe Hunter (vocals, cello, alto saxophone, trumpet, piano); Owen Bradley, Pee Wee Crayton (guitar); Russell Procope (clarinet, alto saxophone); Andrew L. Goodrich (alto saxophone); Ben Webster (tenor saxophone, drums); John "Pat" Patterson, Baker Millian, Sammy Ford (tenor saxophone); Harold Baker (trumpet); Tyree Glenn (trombone, vibraphone); Johnny Jarette, Chuck Walker, Sonny Greer (drums).
Liner Note Author: Dave Penny.
Recording information: Cincinnati, OH (09/06/1947/12/05/1947); Nashville, TN (09/06/1947/12/05/1947); New York, NY (09/06/1947/12/05/1947); San Francisco, CA (09/06/1947/12/05/1947).
Ivory Joe Hunter began establishing himself as singer, pianist, and bandleader on the West Coast beginning with his first self-produced records in 1945. His 1947 recordings for the 4 Star label showed the world a seasoned performer, ready for success. The real break took place in New York City on September 6, 1947, when Ivory Joe Hunter made his first recordings for the King label. The personnel in the band backing him on this auspicious occasion have not been identified, although the conjecture that Ben Webster was blowing tenor is probably accurate. "Don't Be No Fool-Fool" signals a new degree of honesty in popular music, sorely needed but scarcely heeded by the mainstream. Ivory Joe's next recording session took place in Nashville, TN, on November 18, 1947, with Owen Bradley's electrically amplified guitar out in front. "In Time" serves as a premonition of Hunter's eventual involvement with country music. "The Code Song" is a delightful number with Morse code syllables built right into the lyrics. There is a wonderful brooding horn arrangement on "No Money No Luck Blues," with a tenor sax solo by Sammy Ford. The real cream of this crop is the amazing session of December 5, 1947, which took place in Cincinnati, OH. Here Ivory Joe was backed by a quintet of players from Duke Ellington's orchestra. There are ballads, blues, rhumba, and boogie played by Harold "Shorty" Baker, Tyree Glenn, either Wendell Marshall or Oscar Pettiford, and reedman supreme Russell Procope, who was the real instrumental star on this particular occasion. ~ arwulf arwulf

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Ivory Joe Hunter

Product Info

  • UPC: 3307510502633
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)