Lowell Fulson 1947-1948

Price: $27.88
List Price: $30.98
You Save: $3.10 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  FKD2
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: November 3, 2003
  • Originally Released: 2003
  • Label: Classics R&B


  • 1.Night and Day
  • 2.Double Trouble Blues
  • 3.Stormin' and Rainin'
  • 4.Good Woman Blues
  • 5.Jelly, Jelly
  • 6.Mean Woman Blues
  • 7.Shuffle
  • 8.Tell Me Baby
  • 9.Fulson Boogie
  • 10.Tryin' to Find My Baby
  • 11.Highway '99
  • 12.Whiskey Blues
  • 13.Crying Blues
  • 14.You're Gonna Miss Me When I'm Gone
  • 15.Miss Katie Lee Blues
  • 16.Rambling Blues
  • 17.Fulson's Blues
  • 18.San Francisco Blues
  • 19.Fulson Boogie
  • 20.Mean Woman Blues

Product Description:

Personnel: Lowell Fulson (vocals, guitar); Martin Fulson (guitar); Eldridge McCarty, Rufus J. Russell (piano); Dickie Washington, Asal Carson (drums).
Liner Note Author: Dave Penny.
Recording information: San Francisco, CA (1947-1948).
This is a collection of early Lowell Fulson sides recorded for several small labels in 1947 and early 1948, prior to Fulson's signing with Swing Time Records (two of his Swing Time sides are included here, "Scotty's Blues" and "This Train Is Leaving"). Although there is a charming and unadorned simplicity to several of these tracks, including the opener "Night & Day" and the fiery "Fulson Boogie," which pairs Fulson with his brother Martin Fulson on twin guitars, Lowell Fulson's mature sound didn't develop until he began working with pianist Lloyd Glen and alto saxist Earl Brown a little further down the road. ~ Steve Leggett

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Lowell Fulson

Product Info

  • UPC: 3307510507126
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)