Big Bill Broonzy 1949-1951

Price: $19.78
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  323RK
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: January 12, 2004
  • Label: Classics R&B


  • 1.I Love My Whiskey
  • 2.You've Been Mistreating Me
  • 3.I Stay Blue All the Time
  • 4.Water Coast Blues
  • 5.Five Feet Seven
  • 6.I Wonder
  • 7.Keep Your Hands Off Her
  • 8.Mindin' My Own Business
  • 9.House Rent Stomp
  • 10.In the Evening
  • 11.Moppin' the Blues
  • 12.Hey, Hey Baby
  • 13.Willie Mae Blues
  • 14.Black, Brown, And White
  • 15.Black Water Blues (Big Bill Blues)
  • 16.Low Down Blues
  • 17.Feelin' Low Down
  • 18.What I Used to Do
  • 19.Make My Get Away
  • 20.Hollerin' and Cryin' the Blues

Product Description:

Personnel: Big Bill Broonzy (vocals, guitar); Antonio Casey (alto saxophone); Alfred Wallace (drums).
Liner Note Author: Dave Penny.
Recording information: Chicago, IL (01/14/1949-09/20/1951); Paris, France (01/14/1949-09/20/1951).
Curiously, the years 1949-1951 are the least documented on disc of Big Bill Broonzy's career. He was, in fact, very busy, shuttling between Chicago and New York, one of the premier acoustic blues figures from the old Mississippi school who was still active on the instrument. While he wasn't averse to playing up the songster side a little bit, he was, in fact, a very sophisticated figure, and a polished raconteur. In fact, it wasn't until 1949 that his surname was added to records -- an indication of how big a star he'd been. It's notable, too, that after World War II he moved away from playing to black audiences, focusing on people who loved jazz and folk music, helping to bring those strands together -- and also beginning to perform overseas. The dearth of material from this three-year period makes this disc especially valuable. It's easy to hear the obvious fluency in his playing, far removed from his Delta roots by now, and owing a great deal to players like Tampa Red. This was the period, too, when he recorded "Black, Brown and White," his indictment of American racism, which wasn't released until 1951, and then only in France (where he toured for the first time that year). ~ Chris Nickson

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Big Bill Broonzy

Product Info

  • UPC: 3307510507829
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)