Collectables Records

The Paragons Very Best of The Paragons - Florence

Very Best of The Paragons - Florence
35% OFF
Rating 4.9
9 ratings
List Price: $14.97
You Save: $5.24 (35% Off)
Unavailable: Sold Out

Save for Later
Format: CD
Item:  COL 6862
on most orders of $75
Brand New
Sorry, this product isn't currently available.
Enter your email address, we'll let you know when it's back in stock:

Customers who purchased this item also bought these:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2001
  • Label: Collectables Records

Description by

The Paragons are cherished as one of the great New York harmony groups of the late 1950s and early 1960s. Recordings from the Winley, Musicraft, Tap and Music Cleft record labels are collected on this twenty-eight cut disc, including all of the group's most popular and best-remembered tunes.


  • 1.Florence
  • 2.Hey Little School Girl
  • 3.Let's Start All Over Again
  • 4.Stick With Me Baby
  • 5.Two Hearts Are Better Than One
  • 6.Give Me Love
  • 7.The Vows Of Love
  • 8.Twilight
  • 9.Darlin' I Love You
  • 10.Doll Baby
  • 11.So You Will Know
  • 12.Don't Cry Baby
  • 13.Kneel And Pray
  • 14.Just A Memory
  • 15.Florence Don't Leave Me
  • 16.Blue Velvet
  • 17.In The Midst Of The Night
  • 18.Begin The Beguine
  • 19.Danny Boy
  • 20.Baby Take My Hand
  • 21.Wedding Bells
  • 22.Hey Baby
  • 23.If You Love Me (Really Love Me)
  • 24.Thinking Of You
  • 25.If
  • 26.Time After Time
  • 27.Diamonds And Pearls
  • 28.The Things I Love

Product Description:

Liner Note Author: Mark Marymont.
The Paragons were a classy Brooklyn harmony quintet who combined doo wop vocals with refined rock & roll backing to produce several interesting singles at the end of the 1950s. After hooking up with writer/producer and label owner Paul Winley, and led by Julius McMichael's high-tenor singing and fine songwriting abilities, the group produced a marvelous two-sided single in 1957, "Florence"/"Hey Little School Girl." The dramatic piano intro on "Florence" was played and arranged by Dave Cortez (of "The Happy Organ" fame), and his input on Paragons material was crucial to the group's easy, elegant sound. McMichael left the group as the '60s dawned and was replaced by Bill Witt and a move from the Winley label to Tap. The Paragons sorely missed McMichael's writing gift, however, and their later career consisted of competent, but uninspiring, covers of standards like "Begin the Beguine" and "Danny Boy." This collection is almost evenly divided between the Winley and Tap years and is set up chronologically, presenting a true, early history of this very fine group. ~ Steve Leggett

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.9
Based on 9 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for The Paragons

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 10,358
  • UPC: 090431686225
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking CD: