Doris Day 1960s Singles

1960s Singles
15 ratings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  COL 6856
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Compilation Produced By: Dan Rivard
  • Liner Notes: Al Fichera
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2002
  • Label: Collectables Records

Description by

A 26-track collection of the pop-oriented singles that Doris Day recorded for Columbia between 1959 and 1966. Includes details about each track, including recording date, backing orchestra and original catalog numbers. Also includes two previously unreleased tracks.


  • 1.Anyway The Wind Blows
  • 2.Please Don't Eat The Daisies
  • 3.Here We Go Again
  • 4.The Blue Train
  • 5.A Perfect Understanding
  • 6.What Does A Woman Do
  • 7.Daffa Down Dilly
  • 8.Should I Surrender
  • 9.Who Knows What Might Have Been?
  • 10.Lover Come Back
  • 11.Falling
  • 12.Move Over Darling
  • 13.Twinkle Lullaby
  • 14.Send Me No Flowers
  • 15.Rainbow's End
  • 16.Catch The Bouquet
  • 17.Another Go Around
  • 18.Do Not Disturb
  • 19.Au Revoir Is Goodbye With A Smile
  • 20.There They Are
  • 21.Every Now And Then (You Come Around)
  • 22.Glass Bottom Boat
  • 23.Sorry
  • 24.Caprice
  • 25.Let The Little Girl Limbo (Previously Unreleased)
  • 26.Oo-Wee Baby (Previously Unreleased)

Product Description:

Recorded between 1959 & 1966.
Just like Elvis Presley over at RCA, Doris Day's work for Columbia during the early and mid-'60s benefited from crack producers, the best session players in the business, and one of the purest, most distinctive vocalists of the century. Unfortunately, none of those positives made much of a difference when both singers were confronted with material of the poorest quality. This Collectables compilation focuses on Day's pop-slanted work of the '60s, and though she never reached the Top 40 after 1958, the songs will have a similarly curious attraction for a limited number of fans who appreciate great singers even when they're not singing great material. Unsurprisingly, Day's singles of the '60s are happy, breezy, universal-appeal stuff, filled with handclaps, vocal choruses, shuffling percussion, and accentuated brass -- all engineered and produced to the highest standards. Many of them were used as movie titles ("Please Don't Eat the Daisies," "Send Me No Flowers"). The earliest work (with Frank Devol) is the best here, and it slips slightly with a switch to Mort Garson in 1964. (During 1963-1964, though, she also recorded four interesting girl group fusions with Jack Nitzsche, known best for arranging most of Phil Spector's hits.) The 1960s Singles may be intriguing for the historically curious and those who appreciate a great vocalist, but it definitely has a limited appeal. ~ John Bush
Collectables Records - Audio CDs

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.1
Based on 15 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Get Email Alerts for Doris Day

Product Info

  • UPC: 090431685624
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking CD:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)