At Town Hall / Second Town Hall Concert (2-CD)

At Town Hall / Second Town Hall Concert (2-CD)
5 ratings
SALE: $12.98
List Price: $16.97
You Save: $3.99 (24% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  COL 6839
Brand New

Related products:

2 Original LPs On 2 CDs

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2001
  • Label: Collectables Records
  • Original Album #1: Atlantic SD2-604 (1968)
  • Original Album #2: Atlantic SD2-605 (1969)

Description by

Among the highlights of these legendary concert recordings are "What Is There To Say," Paul Simon's "59th Street Bridge Song," Cole Porter's "All Of You," and Lennon and McCartney's "Goodnight." Another absolute must-have reissue from the vaults of Atlantic Records.

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.I'm Throwing A Ball Tonight
  • 2.That Black And White Baby Of Mine
  • 3.Looking At You
  • 4.(I Love You) Samantha
  • 5.When In Rome
  • 6.I've Got Your Number
  • 7.Bojangles Of Harlem
  • 8.Something To Live For
  • 9.Sand In My Shoes
  • 10.Gimme A Pigfoot And A Bottle Of Beer
  • 12.On The Amazon
  • 13.All Of You
  • 14.Staying Young
  • 15.Children In The Carousel
  • 16.Season's Greetings
  • 17.Isn't He Adorable
  • 18.Bad Is For Other People
  • 19.You Should See Yourself
  • 20.Sweet Talk
  • 21.Why Did I Choose You
  • 22.Jenny Rebecca
  • 23.Lazy Afternoon
  • 24.Confession
  • 25.The 59Th Street Bridge Song
  • 26.Here's To Us

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.My Personal Property
  • 2.Isn't It A Pity
  • 3.I've A Shooting Box In Scotland
  • 4.Chicago, Illinois
  • 5.Before I Kiss The World Goodbye
  • 6.Summer Is A-Comin' In
  • 7.Round About
  • 8.Sweet Bye And Bye
  • 9.Medley: A. What Is There To Say B. This Is Romance C. Now
  • 10.Not A Care In The World
  • 11.In My Old Virginia Home, On The River Nile
  • 12.I Can't Get Started
  • 13.I Like The Likes Of You
  • 14.Not A Moment Too Soon
  • 15.Boys And Girls Together
  • 16.Both Sides Now
  • 17.Love Is Blue
  • 18.Mama's Little Girl
  • 19.Wait Till We're Sixty-Five
  • 20.I See It Now
  • 21.Down In The Depths
  • 22.The Best Is Yet To Come
  • 23.The World Today
  • 24.These Foolish Things
  • 25.Days Gone By
  • 26.I'm Not Giving Up
  • 27.Good Night

Product Description:

2 LPs on 2 CDs: AT TOWN HALL (1968)/2ND TOWN HALL CONCERT (1969).
Personnel: Mabel Mercer (vocals); Bobby Short (vocals, piano); Jimmy Lyon, Buddy Barnes (piano); Beverly Peer (bass); Dick Sheridan (drums).
Recorded live at Town Hall, New York, New York on May 19, 1968 & May 18, 1969. Originally released on Atlantic. Includes liner notes by Rex Reed and Roger Whitaker.
In May 1968, Mabel Mercer and Bobby Short, both known for their club performances, shared the bill at a concert at New York's Town Hall. The sixtysomething Mercer was, of course, a major influence on the fortysomething Short, but their styles were different enough to make for a lively combination. The show as a big success, leading to a double album released on Atlantic Records, and the whole thing was done over again with an all-new repertoire -- a year later. This double-CD set combines the two original two-LP sets for a wonderful collection of Mercer and Short. The headliner, of course, is a peerless song stylist, and her two extended segments are full of brilliantly performed, sophisticated, and funny songs that delighted her listeners in the hall and should do so at home, too. The first show contains many of her old favorites, while the second show features many songs about getting old but triumphing over the aging process. Short turns in more varied sets, accompanying himself on piano and using a rhythm section, his sets including the material he is known for by composers like Cole Porter, George Gershwin, and Cy Coleman. In his second set, he devotes the last half of the show to songs by Vernon Duke, who had died recently at the time of the concert. The two performers only share three songs, two at the end of the first disc and one at the end of the second, and those sound off-the-cuff. So, one might wish for more of Mercer and Short actually singing together rather than simply being on the same well-chosen bill. But this is a lot of fantastic cabaret music for the money. ~ William Ruhlmann
Collectables Records

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 5 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Mabel Mercer

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 36,615
  • UPC: 090431683927
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Collectables Records - Audio CDs:

Collectables Records Labels:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)