Collectables Records

Herbie Mann Roar of The Greasepaint / Today

Roar of The Greasepaint / Today
50% OFF
Rating 4.0
1 rating
List Price: $14.97
You Save: $7.48 (50% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Item:  COL 6829
on most orders of $75
Brand New
Amazon sells this CD for $14.39, buying at saves you 48%
This is the price to buy directly from or its featured FBA seller. Prices change often, this price was last checked on March 28, 2015. Amazon is a registered trademark of, Inc.

Related products:

2 Original LPs on 1 CD

Products with a similar style:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2001
  • Label: Collectables Records
  • Original Album #1: Atlantic 1437 (1965)
  • Original Album #2: Atlantic 1454 (1967)

Description by

This collection features ten songs from the Broadway show "The Roar of the Greasepaint -- The Smell of the Crowd," including "Who Can I Turn To," plus Duke Ellington's "The Mooch," The Beatles' "Yesterday" and many more. "Roar" features supporting work by Chick Corea and Mundell Lowe, as well as arrangements by Ray Ellis.


  • 1.The Joker
  • 2.Feeling Good
  • 3.Where Would You Be Without Me
  • 4.It Isn't Enough
  • 5.Look At That Face
  • 6.This Dream
  • 7.Who Can I Turn To (When Nobody Needs Me)
  • 8.The Beautiful Land
  • 9.My First Love Song
  • 10.Sweet Beginning
  • 11.A Wonderful Day Like Today
  • 12.Today
  • 13.The Creole Love Call
  • 14.Don't Say I Didn't Tell You So
  • 15.Arrastao
  • 16.The Mooch
  • 17.If You Gotta Make A Fool Of Somebody
  • 18.Yesterday
  • 19.The Night Before

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Herbie Mann (flute, alto flute); Ray Ellis, Oliver Nelson
(arranger, conductor); Jimmy Owens (trumpet); Dave Pike (vibraphone); Chick Corea, Roger Kellaway (piano); Mundell Lowe, Gene Bertoncini (guitar); Earl May (bass); BRuno Carr (drums); Carlos "Patato" Valdes (congas).
Originally released on Atlantic (1437) & Atlantic (1454).
This two-fer from Collectables features a pair of out of print Herbie Mann LPs: The Roar of the Greasepaint -- The Smell of the Crowd and Today!, both originally issued on Atlantic in 1965 and 1967, respectively. Highlights among the 19 tracks include "Feeling Good'," "Creole Love Call," and "If You Gotta Make a Fool of Somebody," which are pleasant, but not essential. ~ Al Campbell

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Herbie Mann

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 14,172
  • UPC: 090431682920
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Jazz General Music Categories: