Herbie Mann Waterbed / Surprises (2-CD)

Waterbed / Surprises (2-CD)
4 ratings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  COL 6825
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

2 Original LPs On 2 CDs

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2001
  • Label: Collectables Records
  • Original Album #1: Atlantic 1676 (1975)
  • Original Album #2: Atlantic 1682 (1976)

Description by OLDIES.com:

"Bang! Bang!", "Cajun Moon," and Ray Charles' "I've Got a Woman" are but a few of the stand-out songs in this collection. Notable contributors on these albums include Cissy Houston, Pat Rebillot, David Newman and Tony Levin.

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Waterbed
  • 2.Comin' Home Baby
  • 3.Paradise Music
  • 4.Bang! Bang!
  • 5.Deus Xango
  • 6.Violets Don't Be Blue
  • 7.I Got A Woman
  • 8.Body Oil

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Draw Your Breaks
  • 2.Cajun Moon
  • 3.Creepin'
  • 4.Easter Rising
  • 5.Asa Branca
  • 6.The Sound Of Windwood
  • 7.Cricket Dance
  • 8.The Butterfly In A Stone Garden
  • 9.Anata (I Wish You Were Here With Me)

Product Description:

2 LPs on 2 CDs: WATERBED (1975)/SURPRISES (1976).
Personnel includes: Herbie Mann (flute, alto flute); Cissy Houston (vocals); David Newman (tenor saxophone); Pat Rebillot (keyboards); Jerry Friedman, Jeff Mironov, Hugh McCracken, Bob Mann (guitar); Will Lee, Tony Levin (bass); Steve Gadd, Allen Schwartzberg (drums); Ralph McDonald, Ray Barretto, Armen Halburian, Ray Mantilla (percussion).
Originally released on Atlantic (1975) & Atlantic (1682).
Personnel: Herbie Mann (flute, alto flute, bass flute); Cissy Houston (vocals, background vocals); Akiko Kosaka, Eunice Peterson, Rannelle Braxton (vocals); Rod Bryan, Sam Leigh Brown, Hugh McCracken, Jeff Mironov, Hux Brown, Jerry Friedman, Bob Mann (guitar); Guy Lumia, Anahid Ajemian, David Nadien, Matthew Raimondi, Richard Sortomme, Emanuel Vardi, Gene Orloff (violin); Jean R. Dane, Jesse Levy, Richard Maximoff (viola); Michael Rudiakov, Charles McCracken (cello); David "Fathead" Newman (tenor saxophone); Gladstone Anderson (piano); Winston Wright (organ); Pat Rebillot (keyboards); Darryl Washington, Michael Richard, Rick Marotta, Steve Gadd , Allan Schwartzberg (drums); Rafael Cruz, Ralph MacDonald, Ray Barretto, Ray Mantilla, Sammy Figueroa, Armen Halburian (percussion); Sylvia Schemwell, Judy Clay (background vocals).
Audio Remixers: Jimmy Douglas; Lewis Hahn; Tony Bongiovi.
Liner Note Author: Arthur Levy .
Photographer: Arnold Rosenberg.
Arranger: Pat Rebillot.
This two-disc set from Collectables features a pair of out of print Herbie Mann LPs: Waterbed and Surprises, both originally issued on Atlantic in 1975 and 1976, respectively. Highlights among the 17 tracks include "Comin' Home Baby," "Violet Don't Be Blue," and "I Got a Woman," which are pleasant, but not essential. ~ Al Campbell
Collectables Records - Audio CDs

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.2
Based on 4 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Get Email Alerts for Herbie Mann

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 62,553
  • UPC: 090431682524
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking CD:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)