Johnny Winter Still Alive and Well / Captured Live!

Still Alive and Well / Captured Live!
4 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 3 copies left
SUPER SAVINGS: $16.04 Limited Time Only
List Price: $17.99
You Save: $1.95 (11% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  QKJ7
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: May 16, 2000
  • Label: Bgo - Beat Goes On


  • 1.Rock & Roll
  • 2.Silver Train
  • 3.Still Alive & Well
  • 4.Too Much Seconal
  • 5.Cheap Tequila
  • 6.All Tore Down
  • 7.Can't You Feel It
  • 8.Ain't Nothing to Me
  • 9.Rock Me Baby
  • 10.Let It Bleed
  • 11.Bony Maronie
  • 12.Roll With Me
  • 13.Rock and Roll People
  • 14.It's All Over Now
  • 15.Highway 61 Revisited
  • 16.Sweet Papa John

Product Description:

Includes liner notes by Tony Russell.
Personnel: Johnny Winter (vocals, guitar, mandolin); Jeremy Steig (flute); Mark Klingman (piano); Randy Jo Hobbs (bass); Richard Hughes (drums).
Personnel includes: Johnny Winter, Randy Jo Hobbs, Richard Hughes, Floyd Radford.
Winter's first release after a brief retirement/drying-out period, 1973's STILL ALIVE AND WELL, from the title on down, has the feeling of a major comeback, although Winter really hadn't been gone for very long. Produced by longtime collaborator Rick Derringer, who leads the tight and flashy band--also featuring Todd Rundgren and his cohort Mark "Moogy" Klingman--the album is possibly the most pop-oriented release of Winter's tenure at Columbia. Winter's amiable versions of the Stones' "Silver Train" and "Let It Bleed," along with Dan Hartman's "Can't You Feel It," are among his most radio-friendly work. On the other hand, 1976's classic CAPTURED LIVE is straight-up blues-rock power. Fronting a scorching quartet featuring second guitarist Floyd Radford, bassist Randy Jo Hobbs and powerhouse drummer Richard Hughes, Winter plays compact, expressive solos with just enough flash. The six lengthy tracks feature as much solid ensemble playing as they do solo showboating, quite unusual for a guitar boogie album from the '70s. The set list is heavy on the covers, ranging from a killer rave-up on "Highway 61 Revisited" to a looser, good-humored take on Bobby Womack's oft-covered "It's All Over Now."

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 4 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Johnny Winter

Product Info

  • UPC: 5017261204783
  • Shipping Weight: 0.24/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)