Johnny Rivers Johnny Rivers in Action!/Changes

Johnny Rivers in Action!/Changes
6 ratings
Price: $15.29
List Price: $16.99
You Save: $1.70 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  352R5
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: June 15, 1998
  • Originally Released: 2002
  • Label: Bgo - Beat Goes On


  • 1.Mountain of Love
  • 2.Promised Land
  • 3.I Should Have Known Better
  • 4.I'm in Love Again
  • 5.Rhythm of the Rain
  • 6.He Don't Love You, Like I Love You
  • 7.Cupid
  • 8.Oh, Pretty Woman
  • 9.It's All Over Now
  • 10.What Am I Doin' Here With You
  • 11.Moody River
  • 12.Keep a-Knockin'
  • 13.By the Time I Get to Phoenix
  • 14.Taste of Honey
  • 15.Day's of Wine and Roses
  • 16.California Dreamin'
  • 17.Do You Want to Dance?
  • 18.Cast Your Fate to the Wind
  • 19.Poor Side of Town
  • 20.If I Were a Carpenter
  • 21.Softly as I Leave You
  • 22.Shadow of Your Smile
  • 23.Stranger in the Night
  • 24.Getting Ready For Tomorrow

Product Description:

This set compiles two albums from crooner Rivers, 1965's IN ACTION and the following year's CHANGES. On both sessions, the vocalist demonstrates the ability to straddle the fence between jazz/pop and rock/pop. Features 24 cuts including "By The Time I Get To Phoenix," "Shadow Of Your Smile," and "Strangers In The Night."
Personnel: Johnny Rivers (vocals, guitar); Tommy Tedesco (guitar); Bud Shank (flute, saxophone); Jules Chaikin (flugelhorn); Larry Knechtel (keyboards); Gary Coleman (vibraphone); Hal Blaine, Mickey Jones (drums).
Liner Note Authors: Steve McQueen ; Lou Adler; John Tobler.
Photographer: Fred Seligo.
A superb compilation of Johnny Rivers' third and eighth albums, providing a good look at two sides of his studio work, the lean, stripped down rock & roll of In Action! juxtaposed with the more ornate and ambitious sounds of Changes. Rivers became more sophisticated in many unexpected ways as time went on; In Action! shows him covering the Beatles' "I Should Have Known Better" in a punchy, lively rendition, where Changes has him incorporating the string arrangement of "Eleanor Rigby" onto John Phillips' "California Dreamin'." He is in excellent voice throughout, and seldom gets too far from rock even on the most heavily orchestrated songs from Changes. The analog-to-digital transfers are excellent and the sound is genuinely impressive, even by BGO's usual high standards. ~ Bruce Eder

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 6 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Johnny Rivers

Product Info

  • UPC: 5017261203557
  • Shipping Weight: 0.21/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)