Loggins & Messina Full Sail / Mother Lode (2-CD)

Full Sail / Mother Lode (2-CD)
2 ratings
Only 7 copies left
SUPER SAVINGS: $16.04 Limited Time Only
List Price: $17.99
You Save: $1.95 (11% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  E96W
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2007
  • Label: Bgo - Beat Goes On

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Lahaina
  • 2.Travelin' Blues
  • 3.My Music
  • 4.A Love Song
  • 5.You Need a Man
  • 6.Coming to You
  • 7.Watching the River Run
  • 8.Pathway to Glory
  • 9.Didn't I Know You When
  • 10.Sailin' the Wind

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Growin'
  • 2.Be Free
  • 3.Changes
  • 4.Brighter Days
  • 5.Time to Space
  • 6.Lately My Love
  • 7.Move On
  • 8.Get a Hold
  • 9.Keep Me in Mind
  • 10.Fever Dream

Product Description:

Loggins & Messina: Jim Messina, Kenny Loggins.
Personnel: Jim Messina (vocals, guitar, mandolin); Kenny Loggins (vocals, guitar, harmonica); Larry Sims (vocals, bass guitar); Reed Roberts "Manson", Don Roberts (horns); David Paich, Michael Omartian (keyboards); Merle Brigante, Merel Bregante (drums); Vince Charles (steel drum); Chris Brooks (koto); Al Garth (violin, recorder, bass clarinet, alto saxophone, tenor saxophone, horns); Jon Clarke (flute, alto flute, bass flute, bass clarinet, oboe, English horn, soprano saxophone, tenor saxophone, baritone saxophone, bass saxophone, horns); David Wallace (synthesizer); Victor Feldman, Milt Holland (percussion).
Audio Remasterer: Andrew Thompson .
Liner Note Author: John Tobler.
Recording information: Wally Heider's Studio 4, Hollywood, CA.
Illustrator: Joe Garnett.
Photographers: Ed Caraeff; Tyler Thornton.
Anyone who has felt that the Columbia CD reissues of Loggins & Messina's classic albums were lacking -- and doesn't want to spring for the out of print Mobile Fidelity audiophile CD -- should jump right on this double-CD set from England's Beat Goes On label. The freshly remastered sound (circa late 2006) is rich, spacious, and detailed, bringing out the most exquisite elements not only of the singing, but also of Jim Messina's arrangements and all of the playing, especially the myriad stringed instruments. The latter attribute makes Mother Lode's "Be Free," to name but one track, almost worth the price of admission by itself, and there's a lot more where that came from. Indeed, this set allows for a fresh reassessment of both albums, with the curious result that Mother Lode -- which is generally regarded as the slightly weaker of the two -- now seems the equal of Full Sail. The annotation by John Tobler also provides a very full historical overview of the duo's roots and origins. It sounds like a funny thing to say of a 2007 CD reissue -- and damning in terms of what it says, conversely, about Columbia Records domestic CD production quality -- but it's reissues like this that capture what CDs were supposed to do when they first popped up on the music scene 20 years earlier. ~ Bruce Eder

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 2 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Loggins & Messina

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 113,452
  • UPC: 5017261207463
  • Shipping Weight: 0.48/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)