Brian Hyland The Rockin' Folk / The Joker Went Wild

The Rockin' Folk / The Joker Went Wild
1 rating
LOW STOCK: Only 2 copies left
Sale: $17.09
SUPER SAVINGS: $13.80 Limited Time Only
List Price: $18.99
You Save: $5.19 (27% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  E93D
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: May 4, 2007
  • Originally Released: 2007
  • Label: Bgo - Beat Goes On


  • 1.Everglades
  • 2.Michael
  • 3.Blowin' in the Wind
  • 4.Where Have All the Flowers Gone
  • 5.Rock Island Line
  • 6.Raspberries, Strawberries
  • 7.Kaw-Liga
  • 8.Two Brothers
  • 9.Going to Memphis
  • 10.Walk Right In
  • 11.Silver Threads and Golden Needles
  • 12.Jambalaya (On the Bayou)
  • 13.The Joker Went Wild
  • 14.Call Me
  • 15.When You Touch Me
  • 16.One Night Jimmy
  • 17.Norwegian Wood (This Bird Has Flown)
  • 18.The Genie
  • 19.Run, Run, Look and See
  • 20.3000 Miles
  • 21.Sometimes They Do, Sometimes They Don't
  • 22.Yesterday I Had a Girl
  • 23.Lavender Blue (Dilly Dilly)
  • 24.Just Out of Reach

Product Description:

Audio Remasterer: Andrew Thompson .
Liner Note Author: Malcolm Whitby.
This two-fer assembles a pair of mid-'60s LPs recorded by Brian Hyland for the Liberty label. As post-British Invasion pop zigged, the former teen idol zagged, channeling the influence of traditional American roots music to create the most thoughtful and personal records of his career. Following on the heels of Country Meets Folk, 1965's Rockin' Folk reinvents Hyland as a coffeehouse balladeer, and even if the transformation isn't entirely convincing, his affection for the material seems genuine. While the title portends a more contemporary, Dylan-inspired approach, Rockin' Folk is for the most part as old-fashioned and by the book as Hyland himself -- recorded in New York City with veterans of the Greenwich Village scene, the album concentrates on traditionals like "Rock Island Line" and "Walk Right In," employing his earnest vocals to good effect. Titled for the two comeback hits that shape its sound and sensibility, The Joker Went Wild/Run, Run, Look and See pairs Hyland with producer Snuff Garrett and arrangers Leon Russell and Al Capps to create an impressively sophisticated record with the sun-kissed textures of the emerging West Coast pop aesthetic. Hyland's vocals not only boast a soulfulness and vibrancy absent from his mass-market teen hits, but he also proves a charming songwriter as well, crafting effervescent sweet nothings like "One Night Jimmy" and "Yesterday I Had a Girl." Russell's evocative arrangements lend The Joker Went Wild much of its appeal, however, channeling the lessons of Phil Spector and Brian Wilson to create rich, bold pop far greater than the sum of its parts. ~ Jason Ankeny

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Brian Hyland

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 100,347
  • UPC: 5017261207586
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)