Buddy Holly Holly in the Hills / Giant

Holly in the Hills / Giant
7 ratings
Only 4 copies left
SUPER SAVINGS: $14.81 Limited Time Only
List Price: $16.99
You Save: $2.18 (13% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  E92S
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: November 26, 2002
  • Originally Released: 2002
  • Label: Bgo - Beat Goes On


  • 1.I Wanna Play House With You
  • 2.Door to My Heart
  • 3.Baby It's Love
  • 4.I Gambled My Heart
  • 5.Memories
  • 6.Wishing
  • 7.Down the Line
  • 8.Soft Place in My Heart
  • 9.Queen of the Ballroom
  • 10.Gotta Get You Near Me Blues
  • 11.Flower of My Heart
  • 12.You and I Are Through
  • 13.Love Is Strange
  • 14.Good Rockin' Tonight
  • 15.Blue Monday
  • 16.Have You Ever Been Lonely
  • 17.Slippin' and Slidin'
  • 18.You're the One
  • 19.Dearest, (Yummm, Oh Yeah)
  • 20.Smokey Joe's Cafe
  • 21.Ain't Got No Home
  • 22.Holly Hop

Product Description:

2 LPs on 1 CD: HOLLY IN THE HILLS (Coral 1965)/GIANT (MCA 1969).
Personnel: Buddy Holly (vocals, guitar); Bob Montgomery (vocals, guitar); George Tomsco, Jimmy Gilmer (guitar); Don Guess (steel guitar, bass guitar); Sonny Curtis (fiddle); Larry Welborn, Stan Lark (bass guitar); Doug Roberts, Jerry Allison (drums).
Liner Note Author: John Tobler.
Ensemble: The Fireballs.
England's Beat Goes on Records has done listeners a service with this two-on-one release, though some listeners may hesitate to buy this disc based on the relatively low-ranking reputations of the two Buddy Holly albums featured here. The truth is that while neither Holly in the Hills nor Giant represent Holly's music as he would have wanted it known, or even would necessarily have recognized it, it's all good listening; the first 12 cuts, off Holly in the Hills, veer from hard rockabilly to soft country ballads and feature lots of harmony singing shared by Holly and his then-performing partner, Bob Montgomery, and the last ten are mostly heavily redubbed Holly demos and song fragments, the added accompaniment generally approximating his instrumental style to varying degrees and showing him off in renditions of songs associated with Little Richard, Fats Domino, Mickey & Sylvia, and more, and having fun, in particular, with Clarence "Frogman" Henry's "Ain't Got No Home." It's all a lot of fun to hear and enjoyable enough, if not a serious Holly release, and it's never sounded better, nor are any of these tracks likely to show up anywhere else (like in the U.S. catalog) anytime soon, and the annotation by John Tobler is worth a few reads. ~ Bruce Eder

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 7 ratings.
Write an online review to share your thoughts with other customers.
cool Music Lover: from hamilton ,ontario canada -- July, 23, 2009

i grow up the oldies and i think that rock n roll is here to stay forever from steve the limo driver and the owner as well

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Buddy Holly

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 63,833
  • UPC: 5017261205636
  • Shipping Weight: 0.21/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)