Winds of Change / The Twain Shall Meet (2-CD)

Winds of Change / The Twain Shall Meet (2-CD)
5 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 2 copies left
Price: $18.89
List Price: $20.99
You Save: $2.10 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  WEDD
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: August 20, 2002
  • Originally Released: 2002
  • Label: Bgo - Beat Goes On

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Winds of Change
  • 2.Poem by the Sea
  • 3.Paint It Black
  • 4.The Black Plague
  • 5.Yes I Am Experienced
  • 6.San Franciscan Nights
  • 7.Man -- Woman
  • 8.Hotel Hell
  • 9.Good Times
  • 10.Anything
  • 11.It's All Meat

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Monterey
  • 2.Just the Thought
  • 3.Closer to the Truth
  • 4.No Self Pity
  • 5.Orange and Red Beams
  • 6.Sky Pilot
  • 7.We Love You Lil
  • 8.All Is One

Product Description:

Eric Burdon & the Animals: Eric Burdon (vocals); Victor Briggs (guitar, piano, vibraphone); Danny McCulloch, John Weider, Barry Jenkins.
Personnel: John Weider (guitar, violin); Vic Briggs (guitar, piano, vibraphone); Danny McCulloch (bass guitar); Barry Jenkins (drums).
Audio Remixers: Eddie Kramer; Gary Kellgren.
Liner Note Authors: Eric Burdon; Alan Clayson.
BGO Records has done all listeners a favor with this double-CD release -- Winds of Change and The Twain Shall Meet were the two most accessible albums in the output of Eric Burdon & the Animals, both aglow in the spirit of the Summer of Love and its long aftermath in San Francisco, and if they had flaws (mostly an over-reliance on Burdon as a profound talker on Winds of Change and too little time to do the extended songs full justice on The Twain Shall Meet), they were still solid pieces of psychedelia. Indeed, although they're often maligned by the critics and scholars, this version of the Animals produced some of the ballsiest, most intense and involving psychedelic music of the late '60s in the form of these two albums -- in truth, once you got past the Beatles, the Stones, the Who, and the Yardbirds, most British psychedelia was winky, lightweight stuff, all tinkling harpsichords and pop melodies that were too pretty, without a lot of power or much that was memorable. These two Animals albums, by contrast, both lingered, mostly by virtue of their singles (which, to be fair, have been excerpted onto a best-of compilation CD); heard in context here, those singles deeply evoke the passions of the period, from the consciousness expansion embodied by tracks such as "We Love You Lil" to the powerful and (sadly, in 2004) still-relevant "Sky Pilot," one of the most bitterly powerful of all antiwar songs ever to aspire to popularity during the Vietnam era. The mastering of both albums is very clean, and the annotation is surprisingly thorough. ~ Bruce Eder

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 5 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Eric Burdon

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 33,005
  • UPC: 5017261205629
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)