Babe Ruth (Band) Babe Ruth / Stealin' Home

Babe Ruth / Stealin' Home
5 ratings
12 copies available
SUPER SAVINGS: $14.81 Limited Time Only
List Price: $16.99
You Save: $2.18 (13% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  HRJ7
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Label: Bgo - Beat Goes On


  • 1.Dancer
  • 2.Somebody's Nobody
  • 3.Fistful of Dollars
  • 4.We People Darker Than Blue
  • 5.Jack O'Lantern
  • 6.Private Number
  • 7.Turquoise
  • 8.Sad But Rich
  • 9.Duchess of Orleans
  • 10.It'll Happen in Time
  • 11.Winner Takes All
  • 12.Fascination
  • 13.2000 Sunsets
  • 14.Elusive
  • 15.Can You Feel It
  • 16.Say No More
  • 17.Caught at the Plate
  • 18.Tomorrow (Joining of the Day)

Product Description:

2 LPs on 1 CD: BABE RUTH (1975)/STEALIN' HOME (1975).
Babe Ruth includes: Janita Haan (vocals); Alan Shacklock (various instruments); Bernie Marsden (guitar); Steve Gurl (keyboards).
Personnel: Alan Shacklock (vocals, guitar, Mellotron, Moog synthesizer, vibraphone, percussion); Bernie Marsden (vocals, guitar); Steve Gurl (grand piano, keyboards, Moog synthesizer); Ed Spevock (drums, percussion); Chris Karan (percussion).
Liner Note Author: Alan Clayson.
Recording information: Chappell Studios (1975); Morgan Studios (1975); Roundhouse Recording Studios (1975).
Author: Aldous Huxley.
Photographer: Gered Mankowitz.
Arranger: Alan Shacklock.
Babe Ruth was formed in 1971 in Hatfield, England, and adopted their name after the legendary American baseball player. The band, lead by Alan Shacklock (guitars, vocals) and consisting of Dave Hewett (bass), Jenny Haan (vocals), and Ed Spevock (drums), was signed to the Harvest label and released their debut album, First Base, in 1972. The album didn't make much impression in England, but went gold in Canada and was a strong seller in the U.S. The band's second album, Amar Caballero, also released on Harvest in 1973, was a repeat of the debut and sold similarly well in North America, but not in England despite aggressive marketing. In 1975, the band went through some lineup changes and released the self-titled, album early in the year. Later in 1975, Shacklock left the band to be replaced by Bernis Marsden on guitars and vocals and the group recorded a second album that year, Stealin' Home. It was released on the U.S. Capitol Records label. This reissue on the British-based B.G.O label pairs the two 1975 albums together on a single CD. While both albums are not the band's strongest works, Babe Ruth contained some memorable moments, including a delightful version of Morricone's "Fistful of Dollars," as well as the hard rock song "Jack O'Lantern" that was a concert favorite. For the Stealin' Home album, the band moved away from the hard rock experimentation of their early works and into a more commercial driven hard rock blues based sound. The band would record one more album, Kids Stuff, in 1976 with yet another lineup before breaking up later that year. This set has been remastered from original master tapes, and the package contains an in-depth essay on the history of the band along with photos and reproductions of the original album graphics. ~ Keith Pettipas

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 5 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 132,449
  • UPC: 5017261204912
  • Shipping Weight: 0.24/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)