Duke Ellington The Treasury Shows, Volume 13 (2-CD)

The Treasury Shows, Volume 13 (2-CD)
Price: $14.39
List Price: $15.99
You Save: $1.60 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  HREX
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2008
  • Label: Storyville Records

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Someone
  • 2.Riff Staccato
  • 3.Homesick, That's All
  • 4.Kissing Bug
  • 5.Take the "A" Train (Theme)
  • 6.Take the "A" Train (Theme)
  • 7.Time's A-Wastin'
  • 8.De Bond Promo
  • 9.Three Cent Stomp
  • 10.There's No You
  • 11.Fancy Dan
  • 12.Everything But You
  • 13.Fickle Fling
  • 14.De Bond Promo
  • 15.Blue Serge
  • 16.Take the "A" Train [Opening]
  • 17.Stompy Jones
  • 18.Walkin' with My Honey
  • 19.Everything But You
  • 20.In a Mellotone
  • 21.Solid Old Man
  • 22.[Untitled]

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.I Ain't Got Nothing But the Blues
  • 2.Blue Skies
  • 3.Suddenly It Jumped
  • 4.Take the "A" Train
  • 5.Take the "A" Train (Theme)
  • 6.Main Stem
  • 7.Carnegie Blues
  • 8.I Can't Believe That You're in Love with Me
  • 9.Bond Promo
  • 10.What Am I Here For?
  • 11.Lilly Belle
  • 12.Homesick, That's All
  • 13.Go Away Blues
  • 14.Frantic Fantasy
  • 15.If You Are But a Dream
  • 16.Bond Promo
  • 17.Jack the Bear
  • 18.Every Hour on the Hour
  • 19.Cotton Tail
  • 20.Lament in a Minor Mood (Way Low)
  • 21.Bond Promo
  • 22.Teardrops in the Rain
  • 23.I Ain't Got Nothin' But the Blues
  • 24.Things Ain't What They Used to Be

Product Description:

Personnel: Duke Ellington (piano); Ray Nance (vocals, violin, trumpet); Albert Hibbler, Joya Sherrill, Kay Davis (vocals); Fred Guy (guitar); Harry Carney (clarinet, bass clarinet, baritone saxophone); Jimmy Hamilton (clarinet, tenor saxophone); Johnny Hodges, Otto Hardwick (alto saxophone); Al Sears (tenor saxophone); Taft Jordan, Shelton Hemphill, Cat Anderson (trumpet); Rex Stewart (cornet); Joseph Nanton, Lawrence Brown , Claude Jones (trombone); Billy Strayhorn (piano); Junior Raglin (bass instrument); Big Sid Catlett, Sonny Greer (drums).
Arrangers: Duke Ellington; Billy Strayhorn.
Up until the '50s, live concert broadcast from studios, clubs, and concert halls were commonplace. This volume of THE TREASURY SHOWS captures the Ellington orchestra live from New York's 400 Restaurant, as well as from clubs in Chicago and southern California, with the years covered spanning the early '40's to mid-'50's. The early-to-mid-'50s edition of the Duke's orchestra was one of his very best, with top-level soloists, classy compositions, and elegant swing, mixing his famous hits with lesser-known gems. There are also some brief commercials for U.S. Savings Bonds scattered throughout. Not the best set for those new to Ellington, but history-minded enthusiasts will find this a treasure-trove.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Duke Ellington

Product Info

  • UPC: 717101901326
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)