Rahsaan Roland Kirk Return of The 5000lb. Man

Return of The 5000lb. Man
5 ratings
SALE: $9.98
List Price: $12.97
You Save: $2.99 (23% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  COL 6701
Brand New

Products with a similar style:

Rahsaan Roland Kirk / Ornette Coleman
  • Rahsaan Roland Kirk / Ornette Coleman Meeting of The Times / Ornette! (CD) ~ $10.98
  • CD Details

    • Released:
    • Originally Released: 2005
    • Label: Collectables Records
    • Original Album: Warner Bros. WB 2918 (1975)

    Description by OLDIES.com:

    One of the last great outputs from jazz legend Rahsaan Roland Kirk, which was originally released by Warner Bros. in 1975. This wonderful performance features fanstastic versions of "Goodbye Pork Pie Hat," "Giant Steps" and "There Will Never Be Another You."


    • 1.Theme For The Eulipions
    • 2.Sweet Georgia Brown
    • 3.I'll Be Seeing You
    • 4.Loving You
    • 5.Goodbye Pork Pie Hat
    • 6.There Will Never Be Another You
    • 7.Giant Steps

    Product Description:

    Personnel: Rahsaan Roland Kirk (flute, harmonica, tenor saxophone, background vocals); Rahsaan Roland Kirk (stritch); Adrienne Albert, Arthur Williams , Randy Peyton Quartet, Francine Caroll, Maretha Stewart, Milt Grayson, Hilda Harris, Betty Neals (vocals); Romeo Penque (oboe, baritone saxophone); Hilton Ruiz (piano, celesta); Milt Hinton, Mattathias Pearson, Buster Williams (double bass); Bill Carney, Jerry Griffin (drums); Fred Moore (washboard); Habao Texidor (percussion, background vocals); Warren Smith , Warren Smith , Habao Texidor (percussion); William Butler (guitar); Howard Johnson (tuba, background vocals); Hank Jones (piano); Trudy Pitts (organ); Arthur Jenkins (keyboards); Charlie Persip (drums).
    Audio Remixer: Robert "Lip" Liftin.
    Liner Note Author: Rahsaan Roland Kirk.
    Recording information: 1975-1976.
    Photographer: David Gahr.
    Arrangers: Rahsaan Roland Kirk; Frank Foster.
    The Return of the 5000 Lb. Man was Rahsaan Roland Kirk's first album for Warner Brothers, recorded before the stroke that impaired him. Kirk is at full creative and musical strength. These seven tracks are an utter astonishment. Kirk's playing of saxophones, harmonica, flutes, and euphonium is deep, soulful, and even profound in places. "Theme for the Eulipions" (which opens the album), "Giant Steps," and "There Will Never Be Another You" features an all-star band that includes Charlie Persip, a young Hilton Ruiz, bassist Buster Williams, Romeo Perique on baritone saxophone, and Howard Johnson on tuba. The version of "Sweet Georgia Brown," with its wacky percussion and whistling, is so utterly joyful and funky it's perhaps the definitive jazz version of the tune. But it's the readings of Minnie Riperton's "Loving You" and Charles Mingus' "Goodbye Porkpie Hat" that take the album to an entirely new place. They are, though very different from one another, so utterly moving and aesthetically beautiful, they elevate music to the level of poetry. This is one that's utterly necessary for fans, and a very fitting intro for the novice. ~ Thom Jurek
    Collectables Records
    Collectables Records - Audio CDs

    Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

    Customer Rating:
    Based on 5 ratings.
    Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

    Similar Products

    Music Categories:
    Get Email Alerts for Rahsaan Roland Kirk

    Product Info

    • Sales Rank: 42,223
    • UPC: 090431670125
    • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
    • International Shipping: 1 item

    Collectables Records - Audio CDs:

    Collectables Records Labels:

    To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
    Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
    Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)