Woody Herman Jazz Swinger / Music For Tired Lovers

Jazz Swinger / Music For Tired Lovers
5 ratings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  COL 6679
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

2 Original LPs on 1 CD

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2001
  • Label: Collectables Records

Description by OLDIES.com:

Woody Herman toured with his big band from the 1940s through the 1980s -- a record rivaled only by the big bands of Ellington, Basie, and Kenton -- and played with many of jazz's elite throughout his career. These twenty-two original tracks, from the vaults of Columbia Records, offer over seventy-three minutes worth of music, with highlights including the Jolson standards "April Showers" and "Swanee," as well as "I'm Beginning to See the Light."


  • 1.Rock-A-Bye Your Baby With A Dixie Melody
  • 2.April Showers
  • 3.Swanee
  • 4.Dinah
  • 5.Waiting For The Robert E. Lee
  • 6.Carolina In The Morning
  • 7.Toot, Toot, Tootsie! (Goodbye)
  • 8.There's A Rainbow 'round My Shoulder
  • 9.I'm Sitting On Top Of The World
  • 10.Sonny Boy
  • 11.San Francisco
  • 12.My Melancholy Baby
  • 13.I Hadn't Anyone 'til You
  • 14.Let's Fall In Love
  • 15.Moonglow
  • 16.I Don't Know Why (I Just Do) (Medley)
  • 17.You've Got Me Crying Again (Medley)
  • 18.If I Could Be With You (One Hour Tonight)
  • 19.I'm Beginning To See The Light
  • 20.As Time Goes By
  • 21.After You've Gone
  • 22.I'll See You In My Dreams

Product Description:

2 LPs on 1 CD: THE JAZZ SWINGER (1966)/MUSIC FOR TIRED LOVERS (w/ Erroll Garner) (1954).
Personnel: Woody Herman (alto saxophone, clarinet); Frank Vicari, Bob Pierson, Andy McGhee, Sal Nistico, Tom Anastas (saxophone); Bill Chase, Marvin Stamm, Alex Rodriguez, Paul Fontaine, Bill Byrne, Dave Gale, Linn Biviano (trumpet); Carl Fontana, Jerry Collins, Henry Southall (trombone);
Nat Pierce (piano); Mike Moore (bass); Ronnie Zito (drums).
Originally released on Columbia (9352).
Personnel: Woody Herman (vocals); Erroll Garner (piano); Wyatt Ruther (bass); Fats Heard (drums).
Originally released on Columbia (651).
Personnel: Woody Herman (vocals, clarinet, alto saxophone); Bob Pierson (flute, saxophone, tenor saxophone); Sal Nistico (saxophone, tenor saxophone); Frank Vicari, Andrew McGhee (saxophone); Tom Anastasio (baritone saxophone); Marvin Stamm (trumpet, flugelhorn); Dave Gale, Paul Fontaine, Bill Byrne, Bill Chase, Alex Rodriguez (trumpet); Henry Southall, Jerry Collins, Carl Fontana (trombone); Nat Pierce (piano); Fats Heard, Ronald Zito (drums).
Liner Note Author: Martha Glaser.
Arrangers: Nat Pierce; Ralph Burns; Bill Holman.
Collectables Records - Audio CDs

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.6
Based on 5 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Get Email Alerts for Woody Herman

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 49,470
  • UPC: 090431667927
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking CD:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)