DeJohn Sisters Complete DeJohn Sisters

Complete DeJohn Sisters
3 ratings
SALE: $7.49
List Price: $14.97
You Save: $7.48 (50% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  COL 6663
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: March 14, 2006
  • Originally Released: 2001
  • Label: Collectables Records

Description by

Vocalists in the tradition of the Andrews Sisters, The DeJohn Sisters hailed from Chester, Pennsylvania, and followed the Four Aces, another Chester group, to stardom. This compilation includes all their work for Columbia/Epic in the mid-'50s, and is the only CD available by the DeJohn's available in the USA. Among the treasures included are "The Angel Passed By", as well as their best-known song "My Baby Don't Love Me No More".


  • 1.The Angel Passed By
  • 2.Should I Run
  • 3.Never Since School
  • 4.All Present But One
  • 5.I Took Him From You
  • 6.A Kiss And A Rose
  • 7.The Crazy Song Of India
  • 8.The Juke-Box Polka
  • 9.Mandolino
  • 10.Theresa (The Little Flower)
  • 11.Lover's Slang
  • 12.(My Baby Don't Love Me) No More
  • 13.D'ja Hear What I Say ?
  • 14.A Present For Bob
  • 15.Pass The Plate Of Happiness Around
  • 16.He Loves Me
  • 17.(Love Is ) The Tender Trap
  • 18.I'm Learnin' The Charleston
  • 19.C'est La Vie
  • 20.The Man With The Blue Guitar
  • 21.Uninvited Love
  • 22.Hotta Chocolotta
  • 23.In My Innocence
  • 24.Big "D"
  • 25.He's Got Time
  • 26.Mu-Cha-Cha
  • 27.Mah Little Baby (Shortnin' Bread)
  • 28.Don't Promise Me (The Can Can Song)

Product Description:

Recorded between 1953 & 1957.
The DeJohn Sisters were in the same boat as the DeCastro Sisters -- a talented vocal group too often saddled with sketchy material. The DeJohn's only major hit, "(My Baby Don't Love Me) No More," is a delightful up-tempo song with a hiccuping vocal hook that the sisters subsequently adopted as a trademark. The also wrote a number of their own songs, including "(My Baby Don't Love Me) No More," "The Crazy Song of India" (an adaptation of a Rimsky-Korsakov melody), and the bizarre novelty "Lover's Slang." The ballad "C'est la Vie" was the group's only other hit during their Epic Records period, which isn't surprising given their puzzling repertoire of ridiculous novelties, from Victor Mizzy's "Hotta Chocolotta" to the marching band bombast of "Don't Promise Me (The Can Can Song)." The Complete DeJohn Sisters extends well into the rock & roll era, but the group never appreciably modernized their sound, which is a throwback to the sister groups of the big-band era (they even sing "I'm Learnin' the Charleston"). Their harmonies are excellent and their energy level infectious, but most of their ludicrous, lightweight songs range from foul to fluff -- if you don't forget them instantly, you'll wish you had. The Complete DeJohn Sisters compiles all of the group's commercially released Epic recordings from 1953-1957, but not their later efforts for other labels, such as a revival of "Straighten Up and Fly Right" that charted in 1958. The anthology isn't a total wash if you're wanting only "(My Baby Don't Love Me) No More," or have an interest in hearing some obscure compositions by Bob Merrill and Tom Glazer, but the offerings beyond the big hit are meager. ~ Greg Adams
Collectables Records

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 3 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for DeJohn Sisters

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 42,507
  • UPC: 090431666326
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Collectables Records Labels:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)